MCM - Master of Communications Management

Use databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book.

Communication Studies and Media Arts Databases

• Communication Source
  Includes worldwide scholarly journals pertaining to media studies, communications, journalism, public relations, broadcasting,  and other related fields. Also contains many trade (or industry) publications in the field of communication studies.
   

​Business Databases

• Business Source Premier
  Worldwide business literature including scholarly journal and magazine articles. 
   
• ProQuest One Business
  International business literature including scholarly journal and magazine articles.
   

Social Sciences Databases

•  PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index 
  An index to the literature of public affairs, covering topical public and social issues and the making and evaluating of public policy.
   
• PsycINFO
  ​Professional and academic literature in psychology.
   
•  Sociological Abstracts
  Professional and academic literature in sociology.

​Multi-Disciplinary

•  Web of Science - Core Collection
  Scholarly journal literature for all disciplines, including business, communication, psychology, sociology and more.
   
• Scopus
  Provides broad indexing and citation coverage of academic journals, books and conference proceedings published worldwide.
   
• ScholarsPortal Journals
  Includes over 50 million articles from over 23,000 full-text journals covering every academic discipline. 
   
• Google Scholar
  Multi-disciplinary articles from scholarly publications. Search engine is open access, but full-text access to results may be fee-based.  Watch this video to setup Library Links and automatically access McMaster's subscriptions from Google Scholar results (get it). 
   
• ​Omni 
   Simultaneously searches McMaster's library catalogue and the contents of several subscription and open access databases. Select Articles  to restrict results to articles from journals other publications.
   

News Databases

• Factiva
  ​International news articles and press releases. Select Search Builder from the Search menu to find news articles. 
  NOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later or try Nexis Uni and CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly) below.
   
• Nexis Uni
  Includes thousands of international news sources including newspapers, news wires,  television & radio broadcasts, blogs, and more. To find news articles, select News in the Guided Search box on the Nexis Uni home page. 
   
•  CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly), 1988 to the present
  Indexes articles from more than 1,500 magazines, journals and newspapers with significant Canadian content.