COMMERCE 2BC3 - Human Resource Management & Labour Relations

Use career services and sources for help with employment related topics.

• ​Associations Canada via Canada's Information Resource Centre, current 
  Directory of over 19,000 Canadian organizations and international groups; includes industry, commercial, registered charities, special interest and non-profit groups 
  Location of Print: MILLS and THODE Libraries HS 17 .A88
   
• Canadian Occupational Projection System (COPS)  
  Provides projections of future trends in the numbers of job openings and job seekers by occupation at the national level. 
   
• Career Cruising
  Includes Canadian information on hundreds of occupations. Occupational profiles typically include job descriptions, working conditions, education and training, earnings, and links to related occupations and other resources. 
   
• Career Explorer via Hamilton Public Library
  Includes US information on hundreds of occupations. Search for an occupation. Profiles include overview, salary, job market, how to become, education, satisfaction, personality, demographics, and work environment.
   
• Career and Professional Development (CPD) (McMaster University)
  Provides comprehensive career development services to McMaster Commerce and MBA  students.
  Location: DeGroote School of Business, DSB A102 (Hamilton campus) and Ron Joyce Centre, RJC 333 (Burlington campus)
   
• Data (Statistics Canada)
  Search or browse for tables containing current and historical Canadian statistics dealing with labour, employment, occupations, wages and other related topics. 
   
• Eluta 
  Eluta is a job search engine that specializes in finding new jobs inside Canada directly from employer websites.Search by occupation, top employers, keywords or location.
   
• Glassdoor 
  Includes millions of company reviews, CEO approval ratings, salary reports, interview reviews and questions, benefits reviews, and more. International in scope.  
   
• Indeed  
  Search job sites, newspapers, associations and company career pages. Canadian focus. 
   
• Job Bank (Government of Canada)
  Includes job search, job market trends and career exploration for Canada. Select the Job Bank menu to search by occupation, by wages, by outlook, and by skills & knowledge.
   
• Jobboom   
  Includes job postings across Canada, career advice, latest news and headlines related to jobs and Canadian market.
   
• Jobs (Government of Canada) 
  Identifies Canadian job related sites and tools. Includes links on how to find a job, training, hiring and managing employees, workplace standards and more.
   
• Labour Data (Statistics Canada)
  To view publications and statistics related to labour in Canada, select a subtopic link such as Hours of work and work arrangements, Job training and educational attainment, Occupations, etc.
   
• LinkedIn Learning 
  Contains thousands of instructional videos on a broad range of topics including career development, communication, leadership and management.  
   
• Manpower Employment Outlook Survey (ManpowerGroup)
  Employer hiring plans from around the world. 
   
• MyPerfectResume (formerly Riley Guide) (U.S.) 
  Gateway for job search, career exploration and school information.
   
• National Occupational Classification (NOC) 
  NOC 2021, 2016, 2011 and 2006 via  Government of Canada | NOC 2021, 2016 and 2011 via Statistics Canada 
  NOC organizes over 40,000 job titles into 500 occupational group descriptions. Can be used to provide information on occupations and to understand the jobs found throughout Canada's labour market.
  
  
• Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
  OOH provides career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
   
• O*NET OnLine (U.S.)
  O*NET includes information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. Information is available for over 900 occupations. 
   
• Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) 2018, 2010 and 2000 (U.S. Bureau of Labour Statistics)
  SOC is used to classify workers into one of 840 detailed occupations according to their occupational definition.
   
• Student Success Centre - Career Counselling and Job Search  (McMaster University)
  Location: McMaster University, MUSC B118 (Gilmour Hall, Room 110 Closed for Renovations)
   
• TalentEgg 
  Find meaningful jobs, explore career paths and check out helpful resources. Canadian focus.
   
• What Color is Your Parachute? A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career Changers
  Location: MILLS Library Bookstacks HF 5383 .B56

McMaster may not subscribe to all sources listed in the following career research guides. Check Omni for availability.

• Business Career Research (University of British Columbia)
   
• Career Research for Business Students (York University)