Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives subject guide: Labour History

An introduction to Labour History resources at McMaster Archives and Research Collections

Labour History at McMaster University Archives and Research Collections

The William Ready Division of Archives and Research Collections at McMaster University has collected resources related to Labour History since the 1970s. Through its acquisition of union archives, the private papers of Canadian labour leaders, and labour-related journals and publications, McMaster Archives is a prominent site for research on labour history in Canada. 

Highlights of the collection include:

Labour History resources at McMaster Archives and Research Collections

Amalgamated Transit Workers, Local 107 (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds

Division 107 of the Amalgamated Transit Workers was organized in April 1899 to represent the Hamilton Street Railway employees. The archive, covering from 1899 to 1972, includes minute books, financial records, correspondence, agreements, photographs, and research files. 

Bricklayers and Masons Union. Local 1. (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds

This Hamilton local, charted in 1881, was the first bricklayers' trade organization formed in Canada. Included in the records are dues check-off ledgers dating from 1888 to 1969, and minute books dating from 1894 to 1970. The archive also includes a letter-book, financial records, and some photographs. 

Canadian Union of Public Employees. Local 5 (Hamilton, Ont.)

City of Hamilton workers were first organized in 1918 as part of the American Federation of Labour. In April 1933 the organization moved to the Trades and Labour Congress of Canada as the Civic Maintenance Association. It joined the Canadian Congress of Labour on 25 April 1943, as the Hamilton Civic Employees Union, without a local number. It received its designation as Local 5 when it joined the National Organization of Civic Utilities and Electrical Workers on 1 January 1945. Local 5 joined with the National Union of Public Service Employees (NUPSE) on 11 September 1953 which in turn joined with the National Union of Public Employees (NUPE) to form the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) on 24 September 1963. 

Canadian Union of Public Employees. Local 5167 (Hamilton, Ont.) 

Local 5167 was formed in 2000, and consists of seven units, from DARTS, Macassa and Wentworth Lodges, Royal Botanical Gardens, Good Shepherd Centres, Hamilton International Airport and the City of Hamilton with both outside and inside working groups. Union members previously belonged to Local 5 (Hamilton, Ont.), or Local 167 (Hamilton, Ont.), formed in 1952, whose archives are also held by McMaster.

Other CUPE fonds:

Canadian Union of Public Employees. Area Office (Hamilton, Ont.) fondsLocal 37 (Hamilton, Ont.)Local 794 (Hamilton, Ont.)Local 2151 (Hamilton, Ont.).

Black and white photograph of 4 rows of men, several holding metal objects, in front of a building with glass windows. Workers in front of Taylor-Forbes Ltd., a radiator foundry, Guelph, Ont., March 1938. Canadian Labour Collection.

International Association of Machinists. Local 414. (Hamilton, Ont.)

The fonds consists of minute books, membership and dues books, cash books.

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers. Local 105. (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds

Donated to McMaster University in 1981, this fonds includes minute books and agreements. The material is currently restricted, requiring permission to access. 

International Pressman's and Assistants Union. Local 176 (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds

The fonds consists of eight minute books, recording the meetings held by the union from 1904 to 1982.

International Union of Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers. Canadian District

The records of this Hamilton local, representing the employees at Westinghouse, were first transferred to McMaster University in 1979, and have since been updated. The archive is an extensive one, reflecting the activity of the local from 1937 to approximately 1978. Included in the collection are substantial correspondence files, contract negotiations and agreements dating from 1945, and minutes for the executive board, membership meetings, and stewards' council meetings. 

International Union of Painters and Allied Trades

Local 205 received its charter on 27 June 1900 from the Brotherhood of Painters and Decorators of America. The Local 205 (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds consists of collective agreements, financial statements, dues books, cancelled cheques, minute books and photocopies of historic material.

Local 1795 received its charter from the International Brotherhood of Painters, Decorators, and Paperhangers on 8 December 1954. The Local 1795 (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds consists of constitutions, rules, agreements, correspondence, convention proceedings, account books, minutes, seal and stamp from locals 1834 and 1795 (merged into local 1795 in 1979).

Local 1824 (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds consists of a minute book, August 1971 to November 1974; dues books, and brief historical information about the Local.

Iron Molders' Union of North America

McMaster Archives holds two items from the Iron Molders' Union of North America: a minute book, 1872-1879 from the Toronto chapter (Local 28) and a membership ledger, 1929-1930, from the Hamilton chapter (Local 26).

Service Employees International Union fonds

The SEIU represents several thousand workers across Canada, and is the alternate union for non-professional health-care personnel, many of whom are represented by the Canadian Union of Public Employees. The SEIU records which were donated to McMaster in 1976 deal principally with Local 204 (Toronto area) and include agreements, financial records, minutes, and a number of briefs and reports prepared by the union staff. The archive also includes a sizeable collection of correspondence and files from the office of Albert G. Hearn, for many years President, and later International Vice-President for Canada. 

 

Toronto Typographical Union collection

This is a collection of twenty taped interviews (most accompanied by transcripts) done by Alan O'Connor with some members of the Toronto Typographical Workers Union between 1981 and 1984. The resulting publications, including a manuscript entitled "The Real Live Type", are also part of the collection. 

Union générale des étudiants du Québec fonds

Spanning from 1964 to 1969, the fonds consists of correspondence and printed materials, including bulletins, working papers and reports, constitution and bylaws, and press releases.

United Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees and Railway Shop Labourers fonds

Item is a charter granted by the Grand Lodge on 17 April 1919, signed by two officers the Grand Secretary-Treasurer and the Grand President.

United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers. Local 504/550 (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds

The Local 504 union was formed in March 1937 by workers at Westinghouse Electric Corporation. In 1977, 504 divided into 504 and 550. Fonds consists of correspondence, Executive Board and committees, grievances and printed materials. Restrictions are active on grievance files. 

United Glass and Ceramic Workers of North America (Canada)

McMaster University acquired the inactive records of the Canadian office of the Aluminum, Brick and Glassworkers International Union, previously the United Glass and Ceramic Workers of North America, in 1980. These records, dating from 1952 to 1972, include correspondence with the union locals, general correspondence files, seminar and conference proceedings, financial records, and files on contract negotiations and agreements. 

The Federation of Glass, Ceramic and Silica Sand Workers was originally formed in 1934, and began organizing Canadian workers in 1954 as the United Glass and Ceramic Workers of North America.

United Mine Workers of America, Local 13083 (Hamilton, ON) fonds

Members of the local were employed by Canadian Industries Ltd. (C-I-L), General Chemicals Division. Fonds consists of certification documents, contract negotiations, correspondence and a newsletter.

 

United Packinghouse Workers of America (U.P.W.A.-C.I.O.) scrapbook, 1939-1948

 

United Rubber, Cork, Linoleum and Plastic Workers of America. Local 113 (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds

Fonds consists of two charters certified on 1 January 1943 and 27 June 1960.

United Steel Workers of America fonds 

USW is the largest private sector union in North America with more than 225,000 members in Canada and more than 850,000 members continent-wide. McMaster University Archives holds the fonds of several USW locals, primarily located in Hamilton and Toronto.

• District 6 (Toronto, Ont.) fonds

This archive extends to over 150 metres and consists of minutes, correspondence with locals, general correspondence, research files and organizational records dating from 1953 to 1985. Accompanying the District 6 archive is a small collection of papers created by Larry Sefton, past Director of District 6.

• Local 1005 (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds

This local represents several thousand employees at Stelco in Hamilton. The archive includes minutes, correspondence, agreements, and research files dating from 1937 to 1977. Some information is available on the Steelworkers Organizing Committee, and there are records on the strike in 1946 including materials collected by T. McClure. 

• Local 2868 (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds

The records of this local, representing the employees at International Harvester in Hamilton, consist of correspondence, minutes, grievance reports, agreements, and research files, dating from 1943 to 1977.

• Local 3692 (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds

The records of this local of USWA, organized at the Stanley Works, date from 1960 to 1974, and comprise of minutes, reports and newsletters.

• Local 3696 (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds

Local 3696 is active at Norton Company of Canada Ltd. The archives consist of minute books dating from 1946 to 1974, collective agreements up to 1973 and correspondence files for the same period.

• Local 5328 (Hamilton, Ont.) fonds

The archives for this local, operating at Stelco's Parkdale Works, consist of correspondence, financial records and research files dating from 1969 to 1975. The library also holds microfilm copies of a portion of the USWA Canadian National Office archives which are deposited in the Public Archives of Canada. These microfilms extend the research value of the substantial United Steelworkers of America material at McMaster University. The USWA collection as a whole offers researchers many unexplored areas of study.

• Other USWA fonds: 

Local 2537 (Hamilton, ON)Local 3250 (Hamilton, ON)Local 4213 (Hamilton, ON)Local 5955 (Welland, Ont.)Local 6979 (Hamilton, Ont.)Local 7062 (Hamilton, ON)Local 8095 (Toronto, Ont.) fondsLocal 2940 (Hamilton, Ont.)Local 2950 (Hamilton, Ont.)Local 6203 (Hamilton, Ont.)Local 8179 (Hamilton, Ont.)Local 8483 (Hamilton, Ont.), and Local 8995 (Simcoe, Ont.).

Black and white photograph of men and women crowded, indoors, with one man speaking on a raised platform in the centre.

Photograph, ca. 1946. United Steelworkers of America, District 6. Box 475, File 12.   

 

 

Black and white photograph of 9 men, outside, beside a road, with signs. One sign reads Steel Workers on Legal strike. There is a car and telephone poles in the background.

Photograph, 1946. United Steelworkers of America, District 6. Box 476, File 1.   

 

Ralph Ellis fonds

Ralph Ellis (1920-1988) was an active labour leader in Hamilton for more than twenty years. He was active in the CCF party, becoming president of the Hamilton West Riding Association and also running for alderman in the 1950s. He went on to chair the National Committee for Independent Canadian Unions. 

The fonds consists of two scrapbooks which contain mainly news clippings outlining Ellis' many activities. See also the National Committee for Independent Canadian Unions fonds for further biographical information on Ellis as well as some correspondence.

Robert Allen ("Bob") Jaggard collection

Bob Jaggard (1929-1994) born in Hamilton, Ont., was a trade unionist and community activist. During his 36 years as an employee of the Hamilton Street Railway, Jaggard was a member of Local 107 of the Amalgamated Transit Union, serving several terms as president. He was also a founder of the Hamilton Beach Preservation Committee, a member of the Hamilton and District Labour Council, and a member of the Communist Party of Canada. He was a candidate for that party in the Ontario provincial election of 1987 in the Hamilton East riding.

The documents in this collection were gathered by Robert Kristofferson as biographical research for his book on Bob Jaggard. It consists of photocopies of correspondence, news clippings, and other material.

Certificate with blue border. Text reads: This is to certify that Ralph Ellis was a Delegate at the First Constitutional Convention of the Canadian Labour Congress, held April 23 to 27, 1956.

Canadian Labour Congress delegate certificate, 1956, Ralph Ellis fonds, scrapbook 1. 

 

Mark Krakowski fonds

Mark Krakowski (1943-) was born in Kazakstan, the son of Jewish Holocaust survivors from Poland. His career included work as a human rights officer with the Ontario Human Rights Commission, a labour staff representative for various organizations, and a regional representative of the Public Service Alliance of Canada. His archive includes records related to labour action at the Public Service Alliance of Canada and the Canadian Union of Labour Employees. It also contains material on union activity in the Caribbean countries, the Commonwealth Trade Union Council, and the Mayor’s Committee on Community, Race, and Ethnic Relations in North York.

J. N. (Pat) Kelly fonds 

J.N. (Pat) Kelly was public relations advisor to Stelco during the historic strike of 1946, and for the duration of the strike lived with Hugh Hilton, president of the steel company, in the Royal Connaught Hotel in Hamilton. Several years ago the Library was able to obtain Mr. Kelly's papers from that period. The collection includes correspondence, texts of radio broadcasts, memoranda, telegrams, press releases and news clippings concerning the strike. The papers are an invaluable resource for the study of the strike. Also included in the collection are personal correspondence, a taped interview, and information on the Kirkland Lake strike in 1941-1942. 

 

 

David Lewis fonds 

David Lewis (1909-1981) was a political leader, labour lawyer, and university professor. He was born in Svisloch, Poland on June 23, 1909. He was the son of Rose (nee Lazarovitch) and Moishe Losz, a prominent labour leader in Poland and Canada. In 1935, he became the national secretary for the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation. With the CCF, he helped draft the Winnipeg Declaration of 1956.

David played a role in the founding of the New Democratic Party in July 1961. He was elected as Member of Parliament for York South in 1962. He lost his seat in the 1963 general election but returned to the House of Commons in the 1965. He was re-elected in 1968 and became the federal leader of the party in 1971. 

The David Lewis fonds consists of personal letters and material from his political campaigns. 

 

Stephen Lewis fonds

Stephen Lewis (1937-) is a politician, humanitarian, global activist, diplomat, and public speaker. He is a Companion of the Order of Canada, was named “Canadian of the Year” by Maclean’s in 2003 and has received countless awards and recognition for his humanitarian work in the fight against HIV/AIDS in Africa. Between 1970 and 1978, Stephen was the Provincial Leader of the Ontario New Democratic Party. In October 1984, Stephen was appointed as Canada's Ambassador of Canada to the United Nations by Prime Minister Brian Mulroney. He chaired the committee which drafted the five-year UN Programme on African Economic Recovery and the first International Conference on Climate Change in 1988. In the 1990s, he served as the Special Advisor on Race Relations to the Premier of Ontario; and acted as Deputy Executive Director of the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF). In 2001, Stephen was appointed as the United Nations Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for HIV/AIDS in Africa.

The Stephen Lewis fonds consists of material related to his various professional roles. Notably, his archives includes his speaking notes from his lifelong advocacy on behalf of humanitarian and political causes. 

Charles Hibbert Millard collection

Charles Hibbert Millard (1896-1978) was born in St. Thomas, Ontario. After serving in World War II, he worked at General Motors in Oshawa and became involved with the United Farmers of Ontario, a newly formed political party. After losing his business in the Great Depression, he found employment at General Motors where he became active in union agitation. Eventually, after the settlement of the strike in Oshawa, he worked full-time for the Autoworkers Union.

The collection consists of photographs, including photographs taken of labour marches and strikes.


Lawrence F. (Larry) Sefton fonds

Larry Sefton (1917-1973) was born in Iroquois Falls, Ontario. He started his working life and his union career almost simultaneously at the age of sixteen in the mines of Kirkland Lake, Ontario. In 1941 he was elected Recording Secretary of Local 240, International Union of Mine, Mill and Smelter Workers. After the 1941-1942 strike was over, Sefton moved to Toronto. He joined the staff of the United Steel Workers of America, and this organization remained the base of his activities from then on. He was involved with the Stelco strike of 1946. Sefton ran unsuccessfully for the C.C.F. Party in the 1949 federal election. In 1953 he became Director of District 6 of the Steelworkers. He travelled extensively throughout Canada and abroad in this job. In 1958 he became Vice-President of the Canadian Labour Congress. He retired from his district directorship in 1972. 

The fonds contains personal documents, appointments calendars, addresses and lectures, overseas visits, correspondence concerning the U.S.W.A. international election of 1973, periodicals containing articles about Sefton.

Black and white photograph of smiling man. Text reads: Larry Sefton: Young Energetic Experienced, CCF Candidate, Hamilton East.

Larry Sefton campaign pamphlet, 1949, United Steelworkers of America: District 6 (Toronto, Ont.) fonds, Box 1, File 7.

Edward E. Seymour fonds

Edward E. Seymour (1940-) began his life of union work in 1962 when he became a member of Lodge 1246, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers. From 1970 to 1977, he was the Canadian Education and Publicity Director for the Textile Workers Union of America. In 1977 he was the national representative for the Communications Workers of Canada (CLC). In 1986 he established Solidarity Consulting, a consulting firm for unions. 


Harry J. Waisglass fonds

This collection of material was donated to the Library by Professor Waisglass in June 1981. Professor Waisglass (1920/1-2014) came to McMaster in 1975 and later became the Director of the Labour Studies Office, established to foster research and higher learning on labour issues. Prior to his years at McMaster, Professor Waisglass did research for the United Steelworkers of America, the Amalgamated Clothing Workers, and other organizations. He also held the position of Director-General, Research and Information, Canadian Department of Labour for several years.

The collection consists of minutes, reports, memoranda, notes, and correspondence relating to Waisglass's various positions. 

Black and white photograph of a large crowd of people, standing outside on a street, with buildings in background.

[Labour Day, Market Square, Hamilton]. 1946. Edward E. Seymour fonds, Box 34, Album 7. 

Canadian labour collection

The collection consists of various items relating to labour history, including photographs, charters, and audio discs. 

Canadian railway labour negotiation collection

This collection consists of material related to the Canadian Pacific Railway, the Canadian National Railway, and the labour unions representing their employees. The collection dates from 1919 to 1961 and includes early agreements with locomotive firemen, locomotive engineers, conductors, and baggagemen, rates of pay documents, briefs, research reports, and regional documents.

Chartist collection

Chartism was a working class reform movement in England during the period from roughly 1836 to 1850. Its name was taken from The People's Charter and its leaders included William Lovett and Feargus O'Connor (1794-1855). The Chartists agitated for better working conditions, universal male suffrage, and other political reforms. The movement ultimately dissipated due to disagreements among its members and the rise of other reform bodies such as the Anti-Corn Law League. The collection consists of printed materials.

Chromium Mining and Smelting Corporation Ltd. collection

The collection mainly concerns the formation of an Employees’ Collective Bargaining Committee for the workers in Sault Ste. Marie in December 1941 and the negotiations which followed, culminating in a contract in July1943. The collection contains correspondence, labour legislation documents, draft agreements and other materials, and the completed contract.

Fédération des travailleurs du Québec collection

The collection consists of printed materials including convention working papers and addresses and press releases spanning from 1967-1972.

General Motors Corporation of Canada and International Union United Automobile Aircraft and Agricultural Implement Workers of America collection

The collection consists of master, local and supplemental agreements between the two organizations. Included is the first collective bargaining agreement recognizing an association of employees (United Automobile Workers, Local 222) at General Motors in April 1937 as well as agreements between various locals and McKinnon Industries and Frigidaire Products.

Hamilton and District Labour Council fonds

Labour councils are composed of delegates from the union locals in a community. They are the agencies at the local level which carry through the polices of the trade union movement which are initiated by the Canadian Labour Congress and the Ontario Federation of Labour. Often dependent on volunteer help and with limited funds, the councils vary in effectiveness. 

For many years Hamilton had two councils, the Hamilton Trades and Labour Council (formed in 1888), and the Hamilton Labour Council C.C.L. (formed in 1941). In 1956 the two were merged after the formation of the Canadian Labour Congress. The Hamilton and District Labour Council archive at McMaster University comprises all the records of the council from its foundation in 1956 through to 1971. It is a comprehensive collection of minute books, general correspondence, financial records, committee records, and other files. In addition, the archive includes some earlier materials from the two separate councils. 

Hamilton History Collection

The Hamilton history collection consists of essays written about Hamilton by McMaster students for Professor John Weaver of the McMaster University History Department and numbered file folders containing news clippings about Hamilton. Relevant files include:

—Fraser, Robert L. “We Walk” The Story of the Hamilton Street Railway Strike of 1906. April 1970. (Box 1)

—Hourigen, Terrence. Labour’s Reactions in Canada and Hamilton to the Government-Wartime Policies 1939-1946. August, 1977. (Box 1)

—Lawlor, J. Martin. The Hamilton Independent Labour Party, 1919-1925. April, 1975. (Box 2)

—Rudd, Chris. The Hamilton Street Railway Company 1873-1906. March 1980. (Box 3)

National Committee for Independent Canadian Unions

This organization, which was based in Toronto, was formed in 1973 and operated until 1976. A Hamilton branch was formed in 1969. Its main purpose was to achieve independence for the Canadian trade union movement from foreign domination. Initially it was affiliated with the Canadian Liberation Movement.

This collection of N.C.I.C.U. archives extends to one linear foot and consists of minutes, correspondence, membership lists, newsletters, circulars, and financial documents. The collection was donated to the Library by two of its founding members, James Deahl and T.W. Barker. 

McMaster University Collection: Labour Studies (Box 39, 268-274, and 284).

McMaster's Labour Studies Programme began in October 1975 with the launching of a certificate programme through the School of Adult Education. The programme focused on the education of union members and staff. The Labour Studies Programme then developed into a group with both instructional and publication functions. The office also assisted in developing the extensive labour archives in the library. The archives predominantly covers 1976 to 1980 when Labour Studies was under the direction of Professor Harry J. Waisglass. It includes administrative correspondence, curriculum planning and information notes, and publications. 

Saul J. Frankel and the Royal Commission on Employer-Employee Relations in the Public Services of New Brunswick

Dr. Frankel was chairman of the Royal Commission on Employer-Employee Relations in the Public Services of New Brunswick from June 1966 to August 1967. This collection of materials resulted from his chairmanship of the commission and includes notes on hearings, correspondence, extensive research notes and files, and various drafts of the final report. 

The archive is a useful collection of information on the administration of a royal commission, and on employer-employee relations. 

Trade Union Field Officer Interviews conducted by Roy J. Adams

The collection consists of interviews conducted by Adams with trade union Field Officers representing a number of different unions and lead to the writing of “The Work of the Trade Union Field Officer” which appeared in Relations industrielles / Industrial Relations, vol. 32, no. 4, 1977. A copy of the article is included with the collection.

Periodical cover. Text reads United Steelworkers of America Information. May vol. 2 No. 5. Below, black and white image of miner with helmet in front of metal structure. Information/United Steelworkers of America. Vol. 2, No. 5 (May 1953).

204 reporter | Service Employees International Union 

1976 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 T85)

444 news | United Auto Workers, Local 444 

1950 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 F6)

Action | Toronto : National Federation of Labor Youth 

1946 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .A37)

ACTWU labor unity | Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers Union.

1976 - 198- Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 A14)
AFL-CIO news  1955 - 1996 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 4802 .A33)

Alliance | Public Service Alliance of Canada 

1988 - 2000 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (JL 106 .A57)

America @ work | AFL-CIO Public Affairs Dept

1996 - 2005 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 4802 .A33)

B.C. newsletter Progressive Workers Movement 

1969 - 1970 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .B12)

Border cities labour news | Ontario Labour Party

1931 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 4802 .B67)

Canadaworks! The Service Employees International Union magazine 

1988 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6528 .S45 C3)

The Canadian power plant worker Canadian Union of Operating Engineers

1960 - 1973 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 C25)
Canadian U E news   1943 - 1967 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 U12)
Canadian worker   1969 - 1973 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .W56)

 CLC today Canadian Labour Congress

1990 - 1993 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 C17)

Club life | Labor-Progressive Party 

1944 - 19- Archives and Research Collections - Journals (JL 1 .C63)

CTC bulletin Canadian Textile Council

19-- - 197- Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 8039 .T42 C33)

East coast worker | Halifax : East Coast Socialist Movement

1971 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .E37)

En lutte = In struggle! | Montreal : Presses de l'unité  

1973 - 1982 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .E6)

 En masse | Montreal : Cultural Committee of the St. Lawrence-St. George Club of the Labor-Progressive Party

1945 - 1945 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (AP 4 .E48)

Focus | Ontario Federation of Labour.  

1989 - 2009 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 4802 .F62)

Hamilton labour digest Hamilton & District Labour Council

1957 - 1957 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 L3)

Hub of our existence (Hamilton, Ont.)

1953 - 1956 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 H8)

The International Montreal : The League

1971 - 1973 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .I6)

In transit Amalgamated Association of Street, Electrical Railway and Motor Coach Employees of America

1957 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6350 .S8 M8)

Information | United Steelworkers of America 

1951 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6528 .I52U59)

Labor action Toronto : Labour Action Committee

1970 - 197- Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .L22)

Labor advocate | Toronto : Earlscourt Labor Party

1930 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .L23)
Labor challenge  1945 - 1955 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .L248)
Labor challenge  1970 - 1977 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .L25)
Labor facts  1950 - 1965 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .L34) 
Labor press  1970 - 1978 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .L3)
Labour arbitration news  1965 - 1995 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 5507 .L3)
Labour council of metropolitan Toronto - 1979 Archives and Research Collections - Journals
Labour facts for labour forum  1942 - 19--  Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 4802 .L36)
The Labour monthly 1921 - 1981  Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 4805 .L23)
The Labour Scene 1979 - 1983 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 8103 .L33)
Lavoratore   1971 - 1973 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .W5616)
The Liberator   1918 - 1924 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 1 .L5)
Metro Toronto labour  1980 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals
Mine-mill herald   1955 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 M54)

The Miners' voice District 6 of the United Steelworkers of America

1959 - 1981 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 M56)

National affairs monthly National Committee of the Labor-Progressive Party

1944 - 1957 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (JL 1 .N35)
The New Leader   1922 - 1946 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 4802 .N52)

News at 6 District 6, United Steelworkers of America

1989 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 N48)
Next year country news | Saskatchewan Waffle 1978 - 1982 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .N482)
North country | Ontario Waffle Movement 1974 - 1974 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (AP 5 .N63)
October | The Forge 19-- - 1981 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .O3)

On the line : an independent labour paper 

1970 - 1975 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .O6)

Ontario labour | Ontario Federation of Labour 

1978 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 4802 .O66)

The Outsider | Local 5, Hamilton Civic Employees Union, NUPSE

1952 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 8005.2 .C23 H36)

Paranoia | C.E.I.U. Ontario

1983 - 2005 Archives and Research Collections - Journals

Power plant worker | Canadian Union of Operating Engineers

1961 - 1975 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 P6)
Revolutionary Workers League/Ligue ouvrière révolutionnaire PanCanadian pre-convention discussion bulletin  1978 - 19-- Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 109 .R855)

Shipyard bulletin | Local 128, Brotherhood Boilermakers, Ironshipbuilders, Welders, Helpers of America, A.F. of L. 

1943 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 S4)

Socialist press bulletin | National Executive Committee, Socialist Labor Party of Canada

1956 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (JL 1 .S64)
Socialist voice 1977 - 1988 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .S59)

Spadina riding news | Labor Progressive Party

1954 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (JL 279 .A1 S6)

Steel labour | United Steelworkers of America, Canadian Edition

1938 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1S7)

Steel shots Local 1005, United Steelworkers of America

1951 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 S74)

Sudbury beacon | Sudbury Mine, Mill & Smelter Workers Union, Local 598

1943 - 1944 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 4802 .B43)

Ten hours' advocate | Lancashire Central Short Time Committee

1846 - 1847 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 5166 .A2 T4)

Thermogram | Canadian Union of Operating Engineers. 

1975 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 P6)

UE guide | Local 504, United Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers of America.

1951 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 U115)

UE information | Social Legislation Dept., United Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers of America

1968 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 U13)

UE news | United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers of Canada

1967 - 1990 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 U12)

UE news magazine | National Office, United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers of Canada

1990 - 1992 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 U125)

UE research bulletin | United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers of America. Research Dept. 

1958 - 1980 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 U14)

Union builder | District 6, United Steelworkers of America

1982 - 1988 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 U63)

University forward | University Labour Federation 

1935 - 1944 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 241 .U65)

UTU news Canada | United Transportation Union

1973 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6528 .T7 U2)

Waffle labour news | Waffle labour caucus

1971 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .W2)

Weekly news (Winnipeg)

1925 - 1934 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 8103 .W4)

Westinghouse employees' magazine (Hamilton)

1943 - 1946 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HD 6521 .A1 W49)

The Worker | Canadian Party of Labour

1973 - 1981 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .W56)
The Worker (Dublin) 1915 - 19-- Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HV 5285 .W67)
The Workers' vanguard  1955 - 1969  Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .W62)

 Workers vanguard | Spartacist Pub. Co.

1971 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 1 .W67)

The Workers' voice | King St. Section, Labor-Progressive Party

1951 - Archives and Research Collections - Journals (JL 1 .W675)
The Workers' Voice (Toronto) 1934 - 1939 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 1 .W673)
Young Socialist (Toronto) 1970 - 1977 Archives and Research Collections - Journals (HX 2 .Y69)
Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email