Welcome to the Health Age 3B03: Advanced Research Inquiry Research Guide. The goal of this guide is to help you develop effective research questions, teach you how to critically analyze scholarly sources as well as how to properly cite these sources.
McMaster University stands on the traditional territory shared between the Haudenosaunee confederacy and the Anishinabe nations. This territory is covered by the Upper Canada Treaties, is within the lands protected by the “Dish With One Spoon” wampum agreement and is directly adjacent to Haldiman Treaty territory.
We must acknowledge a debt to those who were here before us, and recognize our responsibility, as guests, to respect and honour the intimate relationship Indigenous peoples have to this land.
Use our virtual chat service Ask a Librarian to get a quick answer to any research related questions you may have.
Our extensive collection of online journals, books, videos, and more is available as usual.
No access is available to physical collections at Russell Archives, Archives and Research Collections, or Maps, Data, GIS. Staff will respond to reference queries as possible.
As well, many publishers are opening up content while campuses move online. A select list of these resources is available.
The Library's membership in HathiTrust provides access to millions of titles. Check the Library's information page for details on the HathiTrust collection and access.
The Internet Archive (click "Books" in the header) and their Open Library project provide access to digitized books, many of which can be "borrowed" for up to 14 days. You will need to create a free Internet Archive account to borrow.