Writing Help
McMaster University's Academic Support at the Student Success Centre
Meet with writing assistants to receive help in:
- topic and thesis development
- constructing a strong argument
- essay organization and structure
- referencing and formatting
among other services.
Citation Management
Citation Management Software is used to organize items found when searching in databases and automates the process of creating your bibliography when writing.
Academic Integrity
The Office of Academic Integrity strives to assist instructors and students with issues of academic integrity.
The Office of Academic Integrity provides information for students and instructors alike to assist with the pursuit of knowledge and scholarship and to help avoid problems with dishonesty.
The most current Academic Integrity Policy is dated April 10, 2013 (effective July 1, 2013).
MLA Style Guide
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by
Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, the MLA Handbook is the guide millions of writers have relied on for over half a century. The seventh edition, taken out of print by the MLA in spring 2016 upon publication of the eighth edition, provides the MLA's previous recommendations on documentation style for use in student writing. Please note that copies of the seventh edition of the MLA Handbook include a code for accessing an accompanying Web site. The Web site is no longer available.
Publication Date: 2009
Research and Writing in French
Research and Reference Guide to French Studies by Call Number: PC 2071.O8 1981
How to Write MLA Citations
In this video you’ll learn how to write basic in-text citations and a Works Cited list in MLA. (3:38)
MLA In Text Citations
![MLA In-text Citations First time cited in text 1 author: (Name Page #) OR Name (Page #). 2 authors: (Name and Name Page #) OR Name and Name (Page #) 3+ authors: (Name et al. Page #) OR Name et al. (Page #) Tips Anonymous works: are referred to by a title, or a shortened title, example: (“Study Finds” Page #) No page number? Just use the author’s name in the text or parentheses, example: (Rowling). Titles: use italics for books, use quotation marks for articles, poems, chapters, or short stories. Preparing a Works Cited Page Label page ‘Works Cited’ centered at the top of page; do not italicize or use quotation marks around ‘Works Cited.’ Arrange sources alphabetically by last name (or by title if anonymous source). Double space entire list (within & between lines). Indent 2nd and subsequent lines of each entry 5-7 spaces from the left. Examples: Print: Ferguson, Will, and Ian Ferguson. How to Be a Canadian. Douglas and McIntyre, 2007. Foucault, Michel. Madness and Civilization: A History of Insanity in the Age of Reason. Translated by Richard Howard, Vintage-Random House, 1988. Shelley, Mary. Frankenstein. Penguin Classics, 2003. Electronic: Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. Edited by Pat Rogers, Cambridge UP, 2006. Scholars Portal Books, https://books.scholarsportal.info/uri/ebooks/ebooks2/cambridge/2010-08 18/1/9780521825146 Hughes, Akilah [@AkilahObviously]. "I need a playlist for when I deeply consider going to the gym but then don't." Twitter, 1 July 2015, https://twitter.com/AkilahObviously/status/616443679344041985. Huth, Kimberly. "Figures of Pain in Early Modern English Tragedy." Renaissance Drama, vol. 42, no. 2, fall 2014, pp. 169-90. JSTOR, https://www.jstor.org/stable/10.1086/678121. Picasso, Pablo. Guernica. 1937. Museo Nacional Centro De Arte Reina Sofia, https://www.museoreinasofia.es/en/collection/artwork/guernica Other: Can You Ever Forgive Me? Directed by Marielle Heller, Twentieth Century Fox, 2018. Criterion On- Demand, https://media3.criterionpic.co/display/006?t=F032006. "The Rains of Castamere." Game of Thrones, written by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, directed by David Nutter, season 3, episode 9, HBO, 2013. "Seth Rogen Returns." Armchair Expert with Dax Shepard, episode 324, 10 May 2021, https://armchairexpertpod.com/pods/seth-rogen-return Additional Resources: MLA Handbook (9th edition), MILLS Library LB 2369 .M52 2021 MLA Style Center, https://style.mla.org Purdue OWL, https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/mla_style](https://libapps-ca.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/141307/images/MLA_Citations.png)