Why Use Books?
Books are a great resource to use when searching for general information on a topic. They are useful for understanding a topic in its context and provide summaries of existing research as well as offer a historical perspective.
Books are best found using the Search feature in our Library Catalogue.
Library Catalogue
Scholarly books are a great resource - watch this video to learn how to recognize one. (2:29)
This video explains how to enter keywords into the catalogue to find books on a particular topic. (1:13)
This video shows you how to search by book title using the library catalogue. (0:47)
e-Book Examples
Communication Cultural and Media Studies by
Now in its fifth edition, this pioneering volume of Routledge's 'Key Guides' series offers clear explanations of key concepts, showing where they came from, what they are used for and why they provoke discussion or disagreement. The new edition is extensively revised to keep pace with rapidly evolving developments in communication, culture and media, providing topical and authoritative guidance to transformational shifts from broadcast to digital technologies, national to global media and disciplinary to diverse knowledge. It includes: Nearly 250 entries, covering what and how to study across this multi-disciplinary field; 50 new entries: from algorithm and assemblage, dance and data, to woke and worldbuilding; Updated references with 500 items and suggestions for further reading; Revisions, updates and examples throughout. For students and seasoned scholars alike, Communication, Cultural and Media Studies is an invaluable resource in an ever-changing landscape.
Publication Date: 2020
Communication Studies by
This book brings together a huge range of material including academic articles, film scripts and interplanetary messages adrift on space probes with supporting commentary to clarify their imporatance to the field. Communication Studies: The Essential Resource is a collection of essays and texts for all those studying communication at university and pre-university level. Individual sections address: * texts and meanings in communication * themes in personal communication * communication practice * culture, communication and context * debates and controversies in communication. Edited by the same teachers and examiners who brought us AS Communication Studies: The Essential Introduction, this volume will help communications students to engage with the subject successfully. Its key features include: * suggested further activities at the end of each chapter * a glossary of key terms * a comprehensive bibliography with web resources.
Publication Date: 2004-03-12
A Handbook of Media and Communication Research by
A Handbook of Media and Communications Research presents qualitative as well as quantitative approaches to the analysis and interpretation of media, covering perspectives from both the social sciences and the humanities. The Handbook offers a comprehensive review of earlier research and a set of guidelines for how to think about, plan, and carry out studies of media in different social and cultural contexts. Divided into sections on the history, systematics and pragmatics of research, and written by internationally acknowledged specialists in each area, the Handbook will be a standard reference work for students and researchers.
Publication Date: 2021
An Integrated Approach to Communication Theory and Research by
This new edition provides a comprehensive overview of current theory and research written by the top theorists and researchers in each area. It has been updated to address the growing influence of technology, changing relationships, and several growing integrated approaches to communication and includes seven new chapters on: ■ Digital Media ■ Media Effects ■ Privacy ■ Dark Side ■ Applied Communication ■ Relational Communication ■ Instructional Communication ■ Communication and the Law The book continues to be essential reading for students and faculty who want a thorough overview of contemporary communication theory and research.
Publication Date: 2019-03-14
Introduction to Communication Studies by
This revised edition of a now classic text includes a new introduction by Henry Jenkins, explaining 'Why Fiske Still Matters' for today's students, followed by a discussion between former Fiske students Ron Becker, Elana Levine, Darrell Newton and Pamela Wilson on the theme of 'Structuralism and Semiotics, Fiske-Style'. Both underline the continuing relevance of this foundational text in communication studies. How can we study communication? What are the main theories and methods of approach? This classic text provides a lucid, accessible introduction to the main authorities in the field of communication studies, aimed at students coming to the subject for the first time. It outlines a range of methods of analysing examples of communication, and describes the theories underpinning them. Thus armed, the reader will be able to tease out the latent cultural meanings in such apparently simple communications as news photos or popular TV programmes, and to see them with new eyes.
Publication Date: 2011
