Skip to Main Content

ANTHROPOLOGY 1AB3 - Introduction to Anthropology: Race, Religion and Conflict

Why Use Articles?

Articles are a great resource to use when you need to find a more current perspective on your topic. They are useful as articles commonly focus on one aspect of a broader subject and as a result are more specialized in topic.

Searching Databases

The goal of a successful search is to retrieve all of the information relevant to a research question without retrieving irrelevant information. This requires creating an effective search string.

1. Identify main concepts from the research question.

2. Brainstorm alternative words and phrases.

3. Create search strings using Boolean Operators.

AND is also implied by a blank space between words. E.G. Geriatric AND Driving. Results will contain both the words “geriatric” and “driving.” OR E.G. Geriatric OR Elderly. Results will contain one or more of the words “elderly” or “geriatric.” NOT E.G. Elderly NOT “Middle Aged.” Results won’t contain the search term “middle aged.”

There are so many databases to choose from! This video outlines how to decide which you should use.(2:20)

Transcript (PDF) | Transcript (.docx)

Try these databases:

Or find the complete listing of our Anthropology databases here.

Finding Articles

Where are articles located? Step 1: Catalogue. The catalogue is a searchable list of all of the library’s resources. Think of it like Google, but limited to what the library can access (library.mcmaster.ca). Step 2: Databases. Listed in the catalogue are databases. Databases contain information including but not limited to abstracts, conference proceedings, journals, and various media. The library spends millions of dollars every year to provide access to databases. Using the catalogue, search for databases by name, and then search for your articles within the database. You can also search by journal name. Off campus? Use your MacID to enter databases. Step 3: Journals. Academic journals, like magazines, used to arrive every month in the mail. Now, most are available online. Journals usually publish scholarship relating to one particular academic discipline. Typical content includes original research, review articles, and book reviews. Many, but not all, academic journals use the peer review process to determine what they publish. Step 4: Articles. Many articles will have an abstract that you can read to determine if they are useful. In some databases, look for a PDF button to read the article. To conclude, a metaphor: Each step described above is, in a way, a container. The catalogue ‘contains’ links to databases, the databases contain the journals (or links to them), and the journals contain the articles.

You need journal articles for your essay? Watch this video to learn how to access them online. (5:07)

Transcript (PDF) | Transcript (.docx)

infographic depicting how to read scholarly articles quickly and easily

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email