Skip to main content

How Do I Find Library Catalogues?

Guide to local and worldwide library catalogues.

Union Catalogues

Catalogue Description
open accessbibliotek.dk (Denmark) Contains holdings of Danish public and research libraries and records for all Danish publications. English and Danish interfaces.
open accessCatalogue Collectif de France (France) Includes holdings from the BnF catalogue, SUDOC (academic & research libraries), Base Patrimoine (heritage collections), Base Manuscrits (manuscripts), municipal libraries and Rachel (Judaica and Hebraica libraries in Europe). French interface. 
open accessCiNii Books | CiNii Articles (Japan) CiNii Books includes holdings from Japanese university libraries. CiNii Articles includes academic articles published by academic societies or universities. English and Japanese interfaces. 
open accessCopac (United Kingdom & Ireland)

Includes over 100 academic, national and specialist catalogues in the United Kingdom and Ireland.

open accessThe European Library Searches all of Europe's national libraries and leading European research libraries.
open accessGVK-GBV Union Catalogue (Germany)

Union Catalogue (GVK) of seven German federal states and the Foundation of Prussian Cultural Heritage participating in the Common Library Network (GBV).

open accessMedia Catalog (Canada) Search audiovisual materials in selected Ontario universities
open accessOntario Colleges Library Catalogue (Canada)  Library holdings for publicly-funded community colleges in Ontario.
open accessRACER (Rapid Access to Collections by Electronic Requesting) (Canada) Search Ontario university library catalogues and more.
open accessTrove (Australia)  Includes holdings from state, territory, public and university libraries, research repositories, cultural institutions, and industry organizations in Australia.
open accessVoilà (Canada) National Union Catalogue of Canada, providing access to the collections of libraries across Canada. 
open accessWorldCat 
open accessMcMaster WorldCat  
International union catalogue of research libraries, owned and operated by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center). Contains billions of items in more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. NOTE: McMaster WorldCat highlights McMaster library holdings in the search results.
open accessWorld Digital Library Includes books, photographs, maps, recordings and other online materials from over 120 institutions around the world.