Skip to main content

How Do I Find Financial Ratios?

Sources of industry and company ratios worldwide.

Company Ratios

Geographic
Coverage
Date Coverage Title / Description / Search
U.S.  1970-current McMaster Users OnlyFinancial Ratios Firm Level via WRDS
  • includes over 70 financial ratios grouped into the following 7 categories: capitalization, efficiency, financial soundness/solvency, liquidity, profitability, valuation and others
  • data based on constituents from the S&P 500 Index or CRSP US Common Stocks 
  • industry breakdown is by GICS (10 sectors) or Fama-French Industry Classification (10,12, 17, 30, 48 or 49)
  • at the WRDS home page, select Financial Ratios Suite by WRDS noted under the Subscriptions heading > select Financial Ratios Firm Level > complete each step in the Query Form
Global Current McMaster Users OnlyBloomberg Professional Service (a.k.a. Bloomberg Terminal) 
Location: DeGroote Trading Centres - GTF (Gould Trading Floor), DSB 122A (Hamilton campus) and HIDC (Horizons Investment Decision Centre), RJC 126 (Burlington campus) NOTE: On-campus use only.
  • find a company > under Company Analysis, select FA (Financial Analysis)  then select the RATIO tab
Global Current McMaster Users OnlyFactiva 
  • the Companies/Markets section of Factiva contains profiles of public and private companies worldwide
  • select Companies/Markets from top toolbar > select Company > search for a companyselect a company name from the Company Search Results > select Financial Results (left side) from the Company Snapshot page > select Ratios from the Statement Type drop-down menu
Global Latest 5 years Best Bet!McMaster Users Only Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet, Mergent)
  • data derived from Dun & Bradstreet's database of financial statements for public and private companies
  • includes 14 key business ratios covering solvency, efficiency and profitability for over 800 lines of businesses 
  • select Company and search for company ratio and financial data (i.e., balance sheet, income statement, cash flow) by company name, industry code (SIC or NAICS), line of business, company type (public or private), city, state, and/or country
  • industry norms or averages are also included
Global Latest 15 years Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyMergent Online
  • contains profiles and financials on all active and inactive, publicly traded companies worldwide
  • includes up to 15 years of quarterly and annual company ratios 
  • at the Basic Search screen, search for a company > select the company name from the search results to view the profile > select the Company Financials tab > select the Ratios and Analysis sub-tabs
Global Latest 3 years McMaster Users OnlyNexis Uni 
  • the Business section of Nexis Uni contains profiles on public and private companies worldwide
  • on the Nexis Uni home page, go to the Menu drop-down list (top left) and select Company Dossier 
  • in the Dossier search form, search for a company > select a company name from the results list > on the company report screen, select  Financials Overview (if available) > select Ratio Analysis; this section can include valuation ratios, operation ratios, and earning ratios