It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Routledge Handbook of Halal Hospitality and Islamic Tourism by C. Michael Hall (Editor); Girish Prayag (Editor)The Routledge Handbook of Halal Hospitality and Islamic Tourismprovides a greater understanding of the current debates associated with Islamic tourism and halal hospitality in the context of businesses, communities, destinations, and the wider socio-political context. It therefore sheds substantial light on one of the most significant travel and consumer markets in the world today and the important role of religion in contemporary hospitality and tourism. The book examines halal hospitality and lodging, Islamic markets, product developments, heritage, certification, and emerging and future trends and issues. It integrates case studies from a range of countries and destinations and in doing so emphasises the significant differences that exist with respect to regulating and commodifying halal, as well as stressing that the Islamic market is not monolithic. Written by highly regarded international academics, it offers a range of perspectives and enables a comprehensive discussion of this integral part of Islam and contemporary society. This handbook will be of significant interest to upper level students, researchers, and academics in the various disciplines of Tourism, Hospitality, Food Studies, Marketing, Religious Studies, Geography, Sociology, and Islamic Studies. rehensive discussion of this integral part of Islam and contemporary society. This handbook will be of significant interest to upper level students, researchers, and academics in the various disciplines of Tourism, Hospitality, Food Studies, Marketing, Religious Studies, Geography, Sociology, and Islamic Studies.
Business Ethics in the Middle East by Yusuf SidaniBusiness Ethics in the Middle East fills a crucial gap in the Middle East educational landscape. Written in an easy and accessible format, this book covers the foundations of business ethics by drawing from both Eastern and Western traditions. The chapters include many examples, case studies, activities, and illustrations that are customized to the Middle Eastern market, yet relevant to readers outside of the Middle East who want thorough insights about business behaviour in the region. A special module introduces the Arab Middle Eastern context that non-Arab readers will find valuable. The author addresses topics related to organizational culture, leadership, CSR, corporate governance, marketing, HR, accounting, finance, and production. This is accomplished with a deep attention to the cultural and contextual elements of the Middle East. Special attention is given to religious business ethics, while still deeply engaging the vast heritage of Western ethical systems. This combination is essential for the development of a comprehensive approach to the topic of business ethics. This textbook will be essential reading for students of business ethics in the Middle East and will also be valuable for students and researchers across business ethics, Islamic Studies, religion, and philosophy.
Islam and Business by Kip BeckerKeep up with management issues in the rapidly changing Islamic business world! Islam and Business: Cross-Cultural and Cross-National Perspectives reviews important changes, cross-cultural differences, and management issues in the turbulent Islamic business environment. With the shift from government ownership of companies and commodities toward more open markets and the product/service diversification that this change brings, the need to understand how business is done in these countries is more vital than ever before. The research in this book will help you understand the impact of Westernization upon business practices in Islamic nations. With contributions from experts on four Islamic business environments (Turkey, Jordan, Egypt, and Lebanon), this book: provides a framework to guide corporations in policy and strategic planning examines the impact of Western reforms on selected Islamic business sectors discusses the training, leadership, and management development needs of companies doing business in or with Islamic nations Section 1: Business in Turkey presents: a framework for corporate policy making and for strategic planning activities an assessment of what can cause strategic alliances to succeed or to fail--illustrated by a case study of the relationship between Turkish Airlines and the Qualiflyer Group--this study considers the question in terms of goals, partner selection, alliance management, and areas of cooperation an examination of value-at-risk (VaR) models that can be used to compute market risk for financial institutions--with a study of crisis scenarios as applied to the four largest Turkish banks Section 2: Business in Jordan presents: a study of the impact Westernization has had on the efficiency of Jordanian commercial banks an examination of current practices and procedures for management training and development (MTD) needs in public and private organizations in Jordan--and suggestions for future improvements an exploratory study of how national and regional socio-cultural values affect organizational culture--considering such factors as Power Distance (PD), Uncertainty Avoidance (UA), the Individualism-Collectivism (IDV) dimension, and the Masculinity-Femininity (MAS) dimension, as well as power culture, role orientation, achievement culture, and the support-oriented organization Section 3: Business in Egypt and Lebanon presents: a comprehensive model of relationships between transactional and transformational leadership trust in terms of organizations, organizational justice, intention to leave, and organizational citizenship behavior--using data supplied by 179 middle and direct level managers in 17 private Egyptian organizations an analysis of the factors affecting the advancement of the Lebanese tourism industry, which has suffered tremendously in the wake of civil war and political unrest The information in Islam and Business will be helpful to anyone practicing management or studying how management works in the Islamic world. Make it a part of your professional/teaching collection today!
Islamic Marketing and Branding by T. C. Melewar (Editor); S. F. Syed Alwi (Editor)Islamic Marketing and Branding: Theory and Practice provides a concise mix of theory, primary research findings and practice that will engender confidence in both students and practitioners alike by means of the case study included in each chapter. Through three main parts (Branding and Corporate Marketing; Religion, Consumption and Culture; and Strategic Global Orientation), this book provides readers, from areas across the spectrum covering marketing, organisational studies, psychology, sociology and communication and strategy, with theoretical and managerial perspectives on Islamic marketing and branding. In particular, it addresses: Insights into branding and corporate marketing in the Islamic context. An introduction to Islamic consumption and culture, rules and regulations in brands and consumption in Islamic markets. An identification of how the strategic global orientation of the Islamic approach is practised and how it works in different Islamic countries such as emerging countries. Readers are introduced to a variety of business and management approaches which, once applied to their business strategies, will increase their chances of successful implementation. Addressing both theoretical and practical insights, this book is essential reading for marketing and branding scholars and students, as well as CEOs, brand managers and consultants with an interest in this area.
Light from the East by John FreelyLong before the European Renaissance, while the Western world was languishing in what was once called the "Dark Ages," the Arab world was ablaze with the knowledge, invention, and creativity of its Golden Age. Through the astrologers, physicians, philosophers, mathematicians, and alchemists of the Muslim world, this knowledge was carried from Samarkand and Baghdad to Cordoba and beyond, influencing Western thinkers from Thomas Aquinas to Copernicus and helping to inspire the cultural phenomenon of the Renaissance. John Freely's spellbinding story is set against a background of the melting pot of the cultures involved and concludes with the decline of Islam's Golden Age, which led the West to forget the debt it owed to the Muslim world and the influence of medieval Islamic civilization in forging the beginnings of modern science.
New Perspectives on the History of Islamic Science by Muzaffar Iqbal (Editor)Recent studies in the history of Islamic science based on the discovery and study of new primary texts and instruments have substantially revised the views of nineteenth-century historians of science. This volume presents some of these ground-breaking studies as well as articles which shed new light on the ongoing academic debate surrounding the question of the decline of Islamic scientific tradition.
Science among the Ottomans by Miri Shefer-MossensohnScholars have long thought that, following the Muslim Golden Age of the medieval era, the Ottoman Empire grew culturally and technologically isolated, losing interest in innovation and placing the empire on a path toward stagnation and decline. Science among the Ottomans challenges this widely accepted Western image of the nineteenth- and early twentieth-century Ottomans as backward and impoverished. In the first book on this topic in English in over sixty years, Miri Shefer-Mossensohn contends that Ottoman society and culture created a fertile environment that fostered diverse scientific activity. She demonstrates that the Ottomans excelled in adapting the inventions of others to their own needs and improving them. For example, in 1877, the Ottoman Empire boasted the seventh-longest electric telegraph system in the world; indeed, the Ottomans were among the era's most advanced nations with regard to modern communication infrastructure. To substantiate her claims about science in the empire, Shefer-Mossensohn studies patterns of learning; state involvement in technological activities; and Turkish- and Arabic-speaking Ottomans who produced, consumed, and altered scientific practices. The results reveal Ottoman participation in science to have been a dynamic force that helped sustain the six-hundred-year empire.
Islam, Science, and the Challenge of History by Ahmad DallalIn this wide-ranging and masterful work, Ahmad Dallal examines the significance of scientific knowledge and situates the culture of science in relation to other cultural forces in Muslim societies. He traces the ways in which the realms of scientific knowledge and religious authority were delineated historically. The realization of a discrepancy between tradition and science often led to demolition and rebuilding and, most important, to questioning whether scientific knowledge should take precedence over religious authority in a matter where their realms clearly overlap. Dallal frames his inquiry around three concerns: What cultural forces provided the conditions for debate over the primacy of religion or science? How did these debates emerge? And how were they sustained? His primary objectives are to study science in Muslim societies within its larger cultural context and to trace the epistemological distinctions between science and philosophy, on the one hand, and science and religion, on the other. He looks at religious and scientific texts and situates them in the contexts of religion, philosophy, and science. Finally, Dallal describes the relationship negotiated in the classical (medieval) period between the religious, scientific, and philosophical systems of knowledge that is central to the Islamic scientific tradition and shows how this relationship has changed radically in modern times.
Science, Technology and Development in the Muslim World by Ziauddin SardarThis book, first published in 1977, aims to present a Muslim view of development and highlights some of the related issues that were being debated in the Muslim world. The author outlines the parameters of the Muslim world as well as the Muslim world-view, and provides an analysis of science, science policy and Muslim culture. This title will be of interest to students of economic and social policy, as well as students of Middle Eastern studies.
A bold new conceptualization of Islam that reflects its contradictions and rich diversity What is Islam? How do we grasp a human and historical phenomenon characterized by such variety and contradiction? What is "Islamic" about Islamic philosophy or Islamic art? Should we speak of Islam or of islams? Should we distinguish the Islamic (the religious) from the Islamicate (the cultural)? Or should we abandon "Islamic" altogether as an analytical term? Shahab Ahmed presents a bold new conceptualization of Islam that challenges dominant understandings grounded in the categories of "religion" and "culture" or those that privilege law and scripture. He argues that these modes of thinking obstruct us from understanding Islam. A book that is certain to provoke debate and significantly alter our understanding of Islam, What Is Islam? reveals how Muslims have historically conceived of and lived with Islam as norms and truths that are at once contradictory yet coherent.
A groundbreaking anthropological analysis of Islam as experienced by Muslims, By Noon Prayer builds a conceptual model of Islam as a whole, while travelling along a comparative path of biblical, Egyptological, ethnographic, poetic, scriptural and visual materials. Grounded in long-term observation of Arabo-Islamic culture and society, the study captures the rhythm of Islam weaving through the lives of Muslim women and men.Examples of the rhythmic nature of Islam can be seen in all aspects of Muslims' everyday lives. Muslims break their Ramadan fast upon the sun setting, and they receive Ramadan by sighting the new moon. Prayer for their dead is by noon and burial is before sunset. This is space and time in Islam - moon, sun, dawn and sunset are all part of a unique and unified rhythm, interweaving the sacred and the ordinary, nature and culture in a pattern that is characteristically Islamic.
el-Aswad introduces the concepts of worldviews/cosmologies of Muslims, explaining that the different types of worldviews are not constructed solely by religious scholars or intellectual elite, but are latent in Islamic tradition, embedded in popular imagination, and triggered through people's everyday interaction in various countries and communities. He draws from a number of sources including in-depth interviews and participant observation as well as government documents and oral history. He examines how culturally and religiously constructed images of the world influence the daily actions of people in various Muslim communities. The worldviews of Sunnis, Shi'as, and Sufis are covered in turn, and Muslims in the UAE, Egypt, Bahrain, and suburban Detroit are the focus. el-Aswad also discusses the effects of Western attempts at imposing its essentially secular worldview through the process of globalization and how cyberspace has promoted connectivity among Muslim communities and opened up unlimited options and new possibilities.
Through a series of poignant tales - from the struggle by a group of friends against daily corruption to the contest over a saint's identity, from nostalgia for the departed Jews to Salman Rushdie's vision of doubt in a world of religious certainty - Rosen shows how a dazzling array of potential changes are occurring alongside deeply embedded continuity, a process he compares to a game of chess in which infinite variations of moves can be achieved while fundamental aspects of "the game" have had a remarkably enduring quality. Whether it is the potential fabrication of new forms of Islam by migrants to Europe, the emphasis put on individuals rather than institutions, or the heartrending problems Muslims may face when their marriages cross national boundaries, each story and each interpretation offers a window into a world of contending concepts and challenged coherence.
The Islamic World is an outstanding guide to Islamic faith and culture in all its geographical and historical diversity. Written by a distinguished international team of scholars, it elucidates the history, philosophy and practice of one of the world's great religious traditions. Its grounding in contemporary scholarship makes it an ideal reference source for students and scholars alike. The volume covers the political, geographical, religious, intellectual, cultural and social worlds of Islam, and offers insight into all aspects of Muslim life including the Qur'an and law, philosophy, science and technology, art, literature, and film and much else.
Edmonton's Al Rashid Mosque has played a key role in Islam's Canadian development. Founded by Muslims from Lebanon, it has grown into a vibrant community fully integrated into Canada's cultural mosaic. The mosque continues to be a concrete expression of social good, a symbol of a proud Muslim Canadian identity. Al Rashid Mosque provides a welcome introduction to the ethics and values of homegrown Muslims. The book traces the mosque's role in education and community leadership and celebrates the numerous contributions of Muslim Canadians in Edmonton and across Canada.
Islam is America's fastest growing religion, with more than six million Muslims in the United States, all living in the shadow of 9/11. Who are our Muslim neighbors? What are their beliefs and desires? How are they coping with life under the War on Terror? In Mecca and Main Street, noted author and journalist Geneive Abdo offers illuminating answers to these questions. She reveals a community tired of being judged by Americans' perceptions of Muslims overseas and eager to tell their own stories. Abdo brings these stories vividly to life, allowing us to hear their own voices and inviting us to understand their hopes and their fears.
What is it like to be a young Muslim man in the wake of the 2005 London bombings? Drawn from the author's ethnographic research of British-born Muslim men in the English town of Luton, Being Young, Muslim and Male in Luton explores the everyday lives of young men and, focusing on how their identity as Muslims has shaped the way they interact with each other, the local community, and the wider world. Through a study of religious values, the pressures of masculinity, the complexities of family and social life, and attitudes towards work and leisure, Ashraf Hoque argues that young Muslims in Luton are subverting what it means to be "British" by consciously prioritizing and rearticulating their "Muslim identities" in novel and dynamic ways that suit their experiences. He gives voice to an emerging generation of Muslims who view Britain as their home and are very much invested in the long-term future of the country and their permanent place within it.
This volume brings together scholarship from two different, and until now, largely separate literatures - the study of the children of immigrants and the study of Muslim minority communities - in order to explore the changing nature of ethnic identity, religious practice, and citizenship in the contemporary western world. With attention to the similarities and differences between the European and American experiences of growing up Muslim, the contributing authors ask what it means for young people to be both Muslim and American or European, how they reconcile these, at times, conflicting identities, how they reconcile the religious and gendered cultural norms of their immigrant families with the more liberal ideals of the western societies that they live in, and how they deal with these issues through mobilization and political incorporation.
This book examines the needs, aspirations, strategies, and challenges of transnational Muslim migrants in Europe with regard to family practices such as marriage, divorce and parenting. Critically re-conceptualising 'wellbeing' and unpacking its multiple dimensions in the context of Muslim families, it investigates how migrants make sense of and draw on different norms, laws, and regimes of knowledge as they navigate different aspects of family relations and life in a transnational social space. The authors offer national and comparative case studies of Muslim families from different parts of the world, covering different family bonds and relations, within both extended and nuclear families. This volume affords a more complete understanding of the practices of transnational migrant families, as well as the processes through which family relations and rights are negotiated between family members and with state institutions and laws, whilst contributing to the growing literature on migrant wellbeing.
From "green" pop and "clean" cinema to halal songs, Islamic soaps, Muslim rap, Islamist fantasy serials, and Suficized music, the performing arts have become popular and potent avenues for Islamic piety movements, politically engaged Islamists, Islamic states, and moderate believers to propagate their religio-ethical beliefs. Muslim Rap, Halal Soaps, and Revolutionary Theater is the first book that explores this vital intersection between artistic production and Islamic discourse in the Muslim world.
In contrast to many books on Islam that focus on political rhetoric and activism, this book explores Islam's extraordinarily rich cultural and artistic diversity, showing how sound, music and bodily performance offer a window onto the subtleties and humanity of Islamic religious experience.
Media coverage of the Danish cartoon crisis and the destruction of the Buddhas of Bamiyan left Westerners with a strong impression that Islam does not countenance depiction of religious imagery. Jamal J. Elias corrects this view by revealing the complexity of Islamic attitudes toward representational religious art. Aisha's Cushion emphasizes Islam's perceptual and intellectual modes and in so doing offers the reader both insight into Islamic visual culture and a unique way of seeing the world.
Following the ideals of beauty of Islamic art, the book shows high-quality representations of numerous monumental masterpieces, such as the Al-Aqsa mosque in Jerusalem, the Taj Mahal in Agra or the Alhambra in Granada, in which one recognises the stylisation of motives of the Muslim ceramics.
Envisioning Islamic Art and Architecture: Essays in Honor of Renata Holod is a collection of studies on the portable arts, arts of the book, painting, photography, and architecture spanning the medieval and modern periods and across the historical Islamic lands. The essays reflect the wide-ranging interests and diverse methodologies of Renata Holod and attend to the physical, material, and aesthetic properties of their objects, offer nuanced explanations of complex relations between objects and historical contexts, and remain critically aware of the shape of the field of Islamic art and architecture, its canonical objects, approaches, and historiographies.