Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Discovery & Catalogue

A guide to McMaster's Discovery & Library Catalogue search.

What is Discovery?

Discovery (formerly named Quick Search) is a multi-disciplinary search tool that simultaneously searches McMaster's library catalogue and the contents of several subscription and open access databases (e.g., EBSCOhost databases, JSTORMacSphere, etc.)

Discovery allows you to find physical and online resources on a wide range of topics in a variety of formats, including:

  • archives
  • articles from journals, magazines and newspapers
  • books
  • databases
  • dissertations or theses
  • games
  • government publications
  • maps
  • music 
  • periodical or series titles (i.e., journal titles, magazine titles, newspaper titles, book series titles, etc.)
  • reports
  • videos
  • and more ...
     

Library Catalogue and Articles & More Limits

Search results in Discovery are presented in a single list, but can be separated by selecting the "Library Catalogue" or "Articles & More" limit in the Refine by: column on the left. 

NOTE: Content pulled from databases is contained in the "Articles & More" limit. Individual articles are not included in the "Library Catalogue" limit. 

 

 

 

 

Although Discovery does search a number of resources, it is not a comprehensive search of everything available through McMaster libraries. You may need to search other resources to find all relevant material on your topic.            

  • The Database limit in the Refine by: column of Discovery can help you identify which resources may be worth exploring in more depth. Searching a specific database outside of Discovery will typically provide more search options, limits and targeted results. 

    Database Limit
     
  • Library staffresearch guides and video tutorials can also be consulted for resource recommendations and search strategies. 
Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email