Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GLOBAL STUDIES 709 - Zhou Winter 2022

Finding Articles

Useful Databases

The library subscribes to over 500 databases on multiple platforms. Select a relevant database to search. 

Subject-specific databases 

Discipline-specific databases 

Multi-disciplinary databases 

Canadian databases 

E-Journals (McMaster’s online journals) 

  • Search by journal title to determine full-text holdings e.g. Critical Social Policy  

Government resources 

  • Ontario Open Government  

https://www.ontario.ca/page/open-government 

  • Canada Open Government 

http://open.canada.ca/en 

Google Scholar 

  • Searches grey literature e.g. reports, working papers, government documents  and other materials produced by organizations outside of traditional commercial or academic publishing  

  • Use “Advanced search” to combine words and phrases 

  • Use “Settings” to create links to “get it @ Mac”  

Data and statistics 

Statistics Canada 

  • See A Guide to Data and Statistical Sources from Statistics Canada LibGuide 

http://libguides.mcmaster.ca/c.php?g=703562 

CANSIM 

Gale Primary Resources 
Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more. Your library may have access to extensive archives such as Eighteenth Century Collections Online; newspaper archives such as British Library Newspapers; subject-based archives such as Indigenous Peoples of North America and Archives of Sexuality and Gender. 

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email