Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science 775 Fall 2021

Finding Articles

Useful Databases

The library subscribes to over 500 databases on multiple platforms. Select a relevant database to search. 

Subject-specific databases

  • PAIS International
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  • Politics Collection (ProQuest) combines PAIS and WW Pol Sci Abstracts

Multi-disciplinary databases

  • Scholars Portal Journals  
  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA)
  • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
  • Canadian Public Policy Collection (Scholars Portal Books)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
  • Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis) for news, legal and business sources 

 


Example Newspapers and databases: 

  • National Post
  • New York Times
  • Washington Post
  • Globe and Mail
  • Toronto Star
  • Vancouver Sun
  • Nexis Uni database
  • ProQuest News and Newspapers database
  • News, Politics and Political Magazine Archive database

How Do I Find Government Publications?

http://libguides.mcmaster.ca/find-government-publications

Government websites

  • Ontario Open Government

https://www.ontario.ca/page/open-government

  • Canada Open Government

http://open.canada.ca/en

Google Scholar 

  • Searches grey literature e.g. reports, working papers, government documents  and other materials produced by organizations outside of traditional commercial or academic publishing  

  • Use “Advanced search” to combine words and phrases 

  • Use “Settings” to create links to “get it @ Mac”  

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email