Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work 701 - La Rose Fall 2020

Finding Articles

Useful Databases

The library subscribes to over 500 databases on multiple platforms. Select a relevant database to search. 

Subject-specific databases 

  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) 

  • Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) 

  • Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO) 

Discipline-specific databases 

  • Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCO) 

  • Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) 

Multi-disciplinary databases 

  • Books @ Scholars Portal; includes the Canadian Public Documents Collection 

(formerly Canadian Public Policy Collection) 

  • Journals @ Scholars Portal 

Canadian databases 

  • Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) on ProQuest 

  • Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q) on Gale 

E-Journals (McMaster’s online journals) 

  • Search by journal title to determine full-text holdings e.g. Critical Social Policy  

Government resources 

  • Ontario Open Government  

https://www.ontario.ca/page/open-government 

  • Canada Open Government 

http://open.canada.ca/en 

Google Scholar 

  • Searches grey literature e.g. reports, working papers, government documents  and other materials produced by organizations outside of traditional commercial or academic publishing  

  • Use “Advanced search” to combine words and phrases 

  • Use “Settings” to create links to “get it @ Mac”  

Data and statistics 

Statistics Canada 

  • See A Guide to Data and Statistical Sources from Statistics Canada LibGuide 

http://libguides.mcmaster.ca/c.php?g=703562 

CANSIM 

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email