Secondary Sources - IBH 1AB3 - Perspectives on Canadian Business - McMaster LibGuides at McMaster University

Company Profiles, Financials & Analysis

Business Source Premier - select Business Searching Interface option
To access company profiles in Business Source Premier go to the ADVANCED SEARCH screen, click on the COMPANY PROFILES link on the right and search by company name. Reports can include a company overview, top competitors and a SWOT analysis.
Canada's Top 100 Employers (current year online)
A guide to Canada's best places to work. Briefly covers issues such as work atmosphere & communications, financial benefits & compensation, health & family friendly benefits, training & skills development, community involvement, and more.
Location of Print: STORAGE HD 2809 .C35 (2001 to 2006)
DBRS Morningstar
Includes rating reports for selected Canadian companies. Strengths and challenges are often included. Search by company name.
Factiva
Contains profiles and financials of companies around the world. Select the Companies/Markets link and then click on the Company option. Search by company name or ticker symbol. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later.
Fitch Solutions Reports / Business Monitor International
The country and/or industry reports can include profiles and SWOT analyses on Canadian companies.
FP500: Canada's Largest Corporations
Ranks the top private & public companies in Canada based on revenue/assets. Also identifies leading companies in several industries including finance, insurance, multimedia, telecommunications and more.
Location of Print: MILLS Periodicals HG 179 .F472 (FP500 usually published in the June issue of Financial Post Magazine)
Hoover's Company Records
Includes reports on companies worldwide. Profiles typically include a company factsheet, overview, history, people, products & operations, subsidiaries & affiliates, competitors and financials.
Mergent Online
Online access to current and historical annual reports, broker reports, and financial data for Canadian, U.S. and international companies. Select the Industry analysis to view reports on various industries.
Nexis Uni
Contains reports on public and private companies worldwide. At the Nexis Uni home page, go to the Menu drop-down list (top left) and select Company Dossier. In the Dossier search form, type in a company name or ticker symbol and click Search. Profiles include a snaphsot of the company (e.g., business description, company hierarchy, stock quotes & charts, top executives), news, financials, legal info and more.
Passport
Includes profiles for some Canadian companies along with financial, market share and brand information.
SEDAR+
Official filings for publicly traded Canadian companies. Contains company annual reports dating back to 1997. Search by company name or industry group.
Statista
Includes millions of statistics on thousands of topics from a variety of sources. Includes company and industry related reports. Worldwide coverage.

Business Issues & Topics

Associations Canada
Use this directory to identify Canadian associations relevant to an industry (e.g., Canadian Bankers Association | Insurance Bureau of Canada | Retail Council of Canada, etc.). Association web sites can provide free content such as magazines, newsletters, statistics, industry trends and current issues. Especially useful for current legal and regulatory issues affecting an industry.
Location: ONLINE via Canada's Information Resource Centre, Current ed.
Location of Print: STORAGE, MILLS and THODE Libraries HS 17 .A88 [1991-2018]

Business Source Premier - select Business Searching Interface option
Full text for more than 1,200 scholarly business journals, magazines and other sources.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Database, 1982 to the present
Key articles from 500 Canadian business periodicals, magazines and newspapers
Conference Board of Canada inFact (formerly e-Library)
Contains reports covering subject areas such as corporate finance, human resources management, corporate social responsibility, marketing, health & wellness and training & development. Primarily Canadian content. Search for your company and/or topic.
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly), 1988 to the present
Indexes articles from more than 1,500 magazines, journals and newspapers with significant Canadian content.
Factiva, 1970s to the present, dates vary by publication
Contains over 2,000 full-text newspapers from 200 countries in 26 languages. Use the Sources section to limit your search to publications in Canada or another geographical location. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly content on the web. Adjust the Google Scholar settings to automatically connect to the full-text provided by McMaster libraries. Watch this video to find out how.
LinkedIn Learning
Provides access to thousands of high-quality instructional videos on a broad range of topics including business, communication, management and online and social media marketing.
Nexis Uni, 1970s to the present, dates vary by publication
Includes thousands of worldwide news sources including some Canadian titles (e.g., Hamilton Spectator, Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post). To find news from the Nexis Uni home page ...
- locate the Guided Search task pods
- choose News in the What are you interested in? box
- type your keywords or subject terms in the Search in all News for box
- choose the news timeframe you want to search in from the Choose date range drop-down list
- click Search
- in the results list, use the options in the Narrow By column to filter your results by location, publication type, subject, industry, geography, timeline, etc.
ProQuest One Business
Include thousands of full-text scholarly journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, working papers, newspapers, trade publications, reports and books.
ScholarsPortal Journals, dates vary by publication
Search millions of articles from over 20,000 full text journals covering many academic disciplines, including business.
Sustainable Development Goals (United Nations)
The UN's 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a "universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure that all people enjoy peace and prosperity by 2030."

Web of Science, 1976 to the present
Search for scholarly articles from thousands of journals in this multi-disciplinary database.