EMBA Research Guide

Some of the most popular databases for business research are listed on this page.  Click on a database name to access the resource.

Top Business Databases - A to Z
Database Name			Description
		Business Source Premier	Contains citations and full-text articles from thousands of sources, including academic journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also includes  worldwide company, country and industry reports.
		Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)	Articles from key Canadian journals, magazines and newspapers. Multidisciplinary database with selected full-text.
		Canadian Business Database	Brief profiles of 2.1 million companies in Canada, including privates. Search by company name, by industry code (SIC or NAICS), by geography, etc.
		CANSIM via CHASS (McMaster Users Only) & Data Tables (formerly CANSIM) via Statistics Canada (Open Access)	Contains current and historical Canadian statistics on a wide variety of topics such as business, education, income, labour, manufacturing, population & demography, retail & wholesale and transportation.
		Conference Board of Canada inFact	Full-text database containing research publications and recorded conferences and webinars on economic trends, public policy issues and organizational performance.
		CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals)	Articles from newspapers, magazines and journals. Multidisciplinary database with selected full-text. Emphasis on Canadian content.
		DBRS (Dominion Bond Rating Service) Morningstar	Includes rating reports on companies, countries and cities, as well as industry studies. Worldwide coverage with an emphasis on Canada.
		EIU Viewpoint (Economist Intelligence Unit)	Provides access to economic data, along with analysis, commentary and forecasts for approximately 200 countries around the world.
		Factiva	Provides full-text access to current and archived international news as well as corporate and financial data.
		Fitch Solutions / BMI (Business Monitor International)	Provides country risk, industry and competitive intelligence for 175 countries.
		IBISWorld	Contains U.S., Canadian, provincial and global industry reports. Search by keyword(s) or by industry code (NAICS - North American Industry Classification System).
		Knotia: Accounting & Assurance	Provides full-text access to key accounting manuals such as the CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection (includes CPA Canada Handbook) & International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS).
		LinkedIn Learning	Contains thousands of instructional videos on a broad range of topics, including many relevant to business such as communication, data analysis, online marketing, project managment, programming and software.
		MarketResearch.com Academic	Contains hundreds of full-text market research reports. U.S. emphasis.
		Mergent Online - includes Investext	Contains business and financial data on public (active & inactive) companies worldwide. Also includes country profiles, industry reports, equity reports, bond data and more. The Investext tab contains full-text research reports written by analysts at the world’s top investment banks, brokerage houses and research firms.
		Nexis Uni	Provides full-text access and/or indexing to thousands of sources relevant to business research including international newspapers, company profiles, and legal materials.
		Odesi (Ontario Data Documentation Extraction Service & Infrastructure)	Canadian social science data repository and online exploration and analysis tool.  Contains 5,700+ datasets including Statistics Canada’s DLI public use microdata, historical datasets, and Canadian public opinion polls such as Gallup Canada and IPSOS Canada.
		OECD iLibrary	Provides full-text access to books, reports, working papers, periodicals and statistical data published by the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development).
		Passport (Euromonitor)	A global market information database containing key business intelligence on countries, cities, companies, markets and consumers around the world.
		ProQuest One Business	Provides full-text access and/or indexing to thousands of business sources, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers, books, reports (company, country, industry), videos and more.
		SEDAR+	Contains annual reports, financial statements, press releases and other documents from current Canadian public companies.
		Statista	Includes millions of statistics on  thousands of topics from a variety of sources. It also includes market forecasts, dossiers, industry reports, infographics, and more. Worldwide coverage.
		Value Line Investment Survey	An investment advisory service that tracks approximately 1,700 companies in over 90 industries.
		Web of Science - Core Collection	Indexes and abstracts articles from over 20,000 international scholarly journals in a variety of subject areas including business. Search by topic, cited works and more.
		WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) [Includes Compustat, CRSP, ESG, TAQ & more]	WRDS is a web based interface providing access to recent and historical financial data.

A list of our top business databases organized by source types (e.g., articles, data, reports, etc.). Click here or on the image below for the PDF guide.