Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology Thesis

Biology article databases to search

"Best Bet" Article Databases

Don't know where to search? Try these databases first.

Need more help with these?

Web of Science  | Tutorials

PubMed  | Tutorial  | Training videos​

Google Scholar  | Search tips

Additional Databases

Additional databases to search

Want even more than this? Browse the complete list of Biology Library databases.

AGRICOLA

Searchable database of bibliographic information about all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. There are two databases, one for books and one for articles which can be searched separately or simultaneously.

BioOne Abstracts and Indexes
Coverage: 1998 to present
Note:

McMaster subscribes to the fulltext from BioOne 1.

An indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne provides a unique aggregation of over 82 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 66 publishers. Additional publishers and journals will be added over time. These titles are produced by societies and non-commercial publishers and a majority were previously available only in printed form. BioOne was developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance, and Allen Press. The organization is committed to a non-profit objective of disseminating important, scholarly information focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences by recovering costs while ensuring sustainability.

Entrez Genome

The whole genomes of over 1000 viruses and over 100 microbes can be found in Entrez Genome. The genomes represent both completely sequenced organisms and those for which sequencing is in progress. All three main domains of life - bacteria, archaea, and eukaryota - are represented, as well as many viruses and organelles.

Ask Chat is Offline - Send an Email