It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Asian Heritage Month - Online Display
A collection of digital resources to promote Asian Heritage Month
Business Sustainability in Asia by Zabihollah Rezaee; Judy Tsui; Peter Cheng; Gaoguang ZhouGet familiar with business sustainability in Asia Business Sustainability in Asia offers 12 chapters that cover different aspects of business sustainability with a keen focus on its implications in Asia. Anyone who is involved with business sustainability and corporate governance, the financial reporting process, investment decisions, legal and financial advising, assurance functions, and corporate governance education will be interested in this book. It examines business sustainability performance, reporting and assurance and their integration into strategy, governance, risk assessment, performance management, and the reporting process of disclosing governance, ethics, social, environmental, and economic sustainable performance. The book also highlights how people, businesses, and resources collaborate in a business sustainability and accountability model. * Develop an awareness and understanding of the main themes, perspectives, frameworks, and issues pertaining to corporate governance and business sustainability in Asia * Covers a variety of issues relevant to business sustainability in Asia * Authored by an expert who has written extensively on the subject * Understand why organizations worldwide recognize the importance of sustainability performance If you're a business leader, executive, auditor, or student looking to familiarize yourself with this emerging subject, Business Sustainability in Asia has you covered.
China's Mobile Economy by Winston Ma; Dominic Barton (Foreword by); Xiaodong Lee (Introduction by)Explore the world-changing digital transformation in China China's Mobile Economy: Opportunities in the Largest and Fastest Information Consumption Boom is a cutting-edge text that spotlights the digital transformation in China. Organised into three major areas of the digital economy within China, this ground-breaking book explores the surge in e-commerce of consumer goods, the way in which multi-screen and mobile Internet use has increased in popularity, and the cultural emphasis on the mobile Internet as a source of lifestyle- and entertainment-based content. Targeted at the global business community, this lucid and engaging text guides business leaders, investors, investment banking professionals, corporate advisors, and consultants in grasping the challenges and opportunities created by China's emerging mobile economy, and its debut onto the global stage. Year 2014-15 marks the most important inflection point in the history of the internet in China. Almost overnight, the world's largest digitally-connected middle class went both mobile and multi-screen (smart phone, tablets, laptops and more), with huge implications for how consumers behave and what companies need to do to successfully compete. As next-generation mobile devices and services take off, China's strength in this arena will transform it from a global "trend follower" to a "trend setter." Understand what the digital transformation in China is, and impact on global capital markets, foreign investors, consumer companies, and the global economy as a whole Explore the e-commerce consumption boom in the context of the Chinese market Understand the implications of the multi-screen age and mobile Internet for China's consumers See how mobile Internet use, its focus on lifestyle and entertainment is aligned with today's Chinese culture Learn about the mobile entertainment habits of China's millennial generation and the corresponding new advertisement approaches The development of China's mobile economy is one of the most important trends that will reshape the future of business, technology and society both in China and the world. China's Mobile Economy: Opportunities in the Largest and Fastest Information Consumption Boom introduces you to the digital transformation in China, and explains how this transformation has the potential to transform both China and the global consumer landscape.
The Asian Economy by Kenta Goto (Editor); Tamaki Endo (Editor); Asei Ito (Editor)The book is a key reading which provides a comprehensive and systematic overview of the contemporary Asian economy. The book focuses on the structural changes that are rapidly transforming the regional economic landscape in the 21stcentury. It highlights the concomitant challenges that have arisen, and further discusses prospects and potentialities of Asian economies given this new economic environment. The book also looks at broader social issues which are both the cause and result of these new and complex economic dynamism in Asia. Understanding the Asian economy cannot be achieved without understanding the new interrelationships and complexities that have evolved from this context, which continue to be driven by drastic changes in technological, demographic, and social structures, among others. Each of the chapters are titled based on "issues" and are framed in present continuous tense, intended to capture and emphasize the progressiveness of this new dynamism that is transforming the region in a fundamental way.
China's Trump Card by Raymond YeungDiscover the impact of blockchain on the trade relationship between the world's two largest economies China's Trump Card: Cryptocurrency and its Game-Changing Role in Sino-US Trade grapples with the fascinating issue of the effect of digital currencies on world trade and the relationship between China and the United States in particular. Full of forward-looking insights, solid data analysis, extensive collection of relevant literature and incisive observations, author Raymond Yeung compellingly argues that cryptocurrencies will have a significant role to play in harmonizing geopolitical power struggles. Covering all the subjects required for a full understanding of the future of the Sino-US trade relationship, China's Trump Card discusses: The looming risks of de-dollarization in the wake of de-globalization The pressing need to construct a new currency standard superior to the fiat money regime in response to the global imbalance. China's diversification of its offshore portfolios to include alternative investments The implications of Facebook's plan to create a blockchain-based digital currency The fact that blockchain offers a fungible asset class option for China's reserves investment, which can be relatively independent of political considerations This book is perfect for business leaders, investors, financial analysts, policymakers, economists, fintech developers and others who have a stake in the outcome of the blossoming trade disputes between the United States and China.
Asian Founders at Work by Ezra Ferraz; Grachelle FernandezWhat does it take to successfully launch and scale a startup in Asia? While much of modern business literature covers Silicon Valley and its founders, building a company in Asia--a world center of technology and innovation--is a vastly different journey, and not nearly as widely covered. This book aims to change that. Asian Founders at Work is an essential compilation of in-depth, incisive interviews with over 20 top technopreneurs from the region.
Confucian Capitalism by John SagersWith the life story of Shibusawa Eiichi (1840-1931), one of the most important financiers and industrialists in modern Japanese history, as its narrative focal point, this book explores the challenges of importing modern business enterprises to Japan, where the pursuit of profit was considered beneath the dignity of the samurai elite.
Leading Successfully in Asia by Kim Cheng Patrick LowThis book examines the essence of leadership, its characteristics and its ways in Asia through a cultural and philosophical lens. Using Asian proverbs and other quotes, it discusses leadership issues and methods in key Asian countries including China, India, Japan, Kazakhstan, Malaysia and Singapore. It also explores the leadership styles of various great Asian political and corporate leaders. Further, it investigates several unique Asian philosophies, such as Buddhism, Guan Yin, Confucianism, Ta Mo, Chinese Animal zodiac signs, Hindu Gods, the Samurai, the Bushido Spirit and Zen in the context of le
Fog and Edge Computing by Rajkumar Buyya (Editor); Satish Narayana Srirama (Editor)A comprehensive guide to Fog and Edge applications, architectures, and technologies Recent years have seen the explosive growth of the Internet of Things (IoT): the internet-connected network of devices that includes everything from personal electronics and home appliances to automobiles and industrial machinery. Responding to the ever-increasing bandwidth demands of the IoT, Fog and Edge computing concepts have developed to collect, analyze, and process data more efficiently than traditional cloud architecture. Fog and Edge Computing: Principles and Paradigms provides a comprehensive overview of the state-of-the-art applications and architectures driving this dynamic field of computing while highlighting potential research directions and emerging technologies. Exploring topics such as developing scalable architectures, moving from closed systems to open systems, and ethical issues rising from data sensing, this timely book addresses both the challenges and opportunities that Fog and Edge computing presents. Contributions from leading IoT experts discuss federating Edge resources, middleware design issues, data management and predictive analysis, smart transportation and surveillance applications, and more. A coordinated and integrated presentation of topics helps readers gain thorough knowledge of the foundations, applications, and issues that are central to Fog and Edge computing. This valuable resource: Provides insights on transitioning from current Cloud-centric and 4G/5G wireless environments to Fog Computing Examines methods to optimize virtualized, pooled, and shared resources Identifies potential technical challenges and offers suggestions for possible solutions Discusses major components of Fog and Edge computing architectures such as middleware, interaction protocols, and autonomic management Includes access to a website portal for advanced online resources Fog and Edge Computing: Principles and Paradigms is an essential source of up-to-date information for systems architects, developers, researchers, and advanced undergraduate and graduate students in fields of computer science and engineering.
Two-Dimensional Semiconductors by jingbo Li; Zhongming Wei; Jun KangIn-depth overview of two-dimensional semiconductors from theoretical studies, properties to emerging applications! Two-dimensional (2D) materials have attracted enormous attention due to their exotic properties deriving from their ultrathin dimensions. 2D materials, such as graphene, transition metal dichalcogenides, transition metal oxides, black phosphorus and boron nitride, exhibit versatile optical, electronic, catalytic and mechanical properties, thus can be used in a wide range of applications, including electronics, optoelectronics and optical applications. Two-Dimensional Semiconductors: Synthesis, Physical Properties and Applications provides an in-depth view of 2D semiconductors from theoretical studies, properties to applications, taking into account the current state of research and development. It introduces various preparation methods and describes in detail the physical properties of 2D semiconductors including 2D alloys and heterostructures. The covered applications include, but are not limited to, field-effect transistors, spintronics, solar cells, photodetectors, light-emitting diode, sensors and bioelectronics. * Highly topical: 2D materials are a rapidly advancing field that attracts increasing attention * Concise overview: covers theoretical studies, preparation methods, physical properties, potential applications, the challenges and opportunities * Application oriented: focuses on 2D semiconductors that can be used in various applications such as field-effect transistors, solar cells, sensors and bioelectronics * Highly relevant: newcomers as well as experienced researchers in the field of 2D materials will benefit from this book Two-Dimensional Semiconductors: Synthesis, Physical Properties and Applications is written for materials scientists, semiconductor and solid state physicists, electrical engineers, and readers working in the semiconductor industry.
Profit Maximization Techniques for Operating Chemical Plants by Sandip K. LahiriA systematic approach to profit optimization utilizing strategic solutions and methodologies for the chemical process industry In the ongoing battle to reduce the cost of production and increase profit margin within the chemical process industry, leaders are searching for new ways to deploy profit optimization strategies. Profit Maximization Techniques For Operating Chemical Plants defines strategic planning and implementation techniques for managers, senior executives, and technical service consultants to help increase profit margins. The book provides in-depth insight and practical tools to help readers find new and unique opportunities to implement profit optimization strategies. From identifying where the large profit improvement projects are to increasing plant capacity and pushing plant operations towards multiple constraints while maintaining continuous improvements--there is a plethora of information to help keep plant operations on budget. The book also includes information on: ● Take away methods and techniques for identifying and exploiting potential areas to improve profit within the plant ● Focus on latest Artificial Intelligence based modeling, knowledge discovery and optimization strategies to maximize profit in running plant. ● Describes procedure to develop advance process monitoring and fault diagnosis in running plant ● Thoughts on engineering design , best practices and monitoring to sustain profit improvements ● Step-by-step guides to identifying, building, and deploying improvement applications For leaders and technologists in the industry who want to maximize profit margins, this text provides basic concepts, guidelines, and step-by-step guides specifically for the chemical plant sector.
Integration of Large Scale Wind Energy with Electrical Power Systems in China by Zongxiang Lu; Shuangxi ZhouAn in-depth examination of large scale wind projects and electricity production in China Presents the challenges of electrical power system planning, design, operation and control carried out by large scale wind power, from the Chinese perspective Focuses on the integration issue of large scale wind power to the bulk power system, probing the interaction between wind power and bulk power systems Wind power development is a burgeoning area of study in developing countries, with much interest in offshore wind farms and several big projects under development English translation of the Chinese language original which won the "Fourth China Outstanding Publication Award nomination" in March 2013
Life and Death of the Stars by Ganesan SrinivasanThis volume is devoted to one of the fascinating things about stars: how they evolve as they age. This evolution is different for stars of different masses. How stars end their lives when their supply of energy is exhausted also depends on their masses. Interestingly, astronomers conjectured about the ultimate fate of the stars even before the details of their evolution became clear. Part I of this book gives an account of the remarkable predictions made during the 1920s and 1930s concerning the ultimate fate of stars. Since much of this development hinged on quantum physics that emerged during this time, a detailed introduction to the relevant physics is included in the book. Part II is a summary of the life history of stars. This discussion is divided into three parts: low-mass stars, like our Sun, intermediate-mass stars, and massive stars.
The Shape of a Life by Shing-Tung Yau; Steve NadisA Fields medalist recounts his lifelong transnational effort to uncover the geometric shape--the Calabi-Yau manifold--that may store the hidden dimensions of our universe. Harvard geometer and Fields medalist Shing-Tung Yau has provided a mathematical foundation for string theory, offered new insights into black holes, and mathematically demonstrated the stability of our universe. In this autobiography, Yau reflects on his improbable journey to becoming one of the world's most distinguished mathematicians. Beginning with an impoverished childhood in China and Hong Kong, Yau takes readers through his doctoral studies at Berkeley during the height of the Vietnam War protests, his Fields Medal-winning proof of the Calabi conjecture, his return to China, and his pioneering work in geometric analysis.
The Theory of Turbulence by Edward A. Spiegel (Editor)In January 1937, Nobel laureate in Physics Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar was recruited to the University of Chicago. He was to remain there for his entire career, becoming Morton D. Hull Distinguished Service Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics in 1952 and attaining emeritus status in 1985. This is where his then student Ed Spiegel met him during the summer of 1954, attended his lectures on turbulence and jotted down the notes in hand. His lectures had a twofold purpose: they not only provided a very elementary introduction to some aspects of the subject for novices, they also allowed Chandra to organize his thoughts in preparation to formulating his attack on the statistical problem of homogeneous turbulence. After each lecture Ed Spiegel transcribed the notes and filled in the details of the derivations that Chandrasekhar had not included, trying to preserve the spirit of his presentation and even adding some of his side remarks.
Energy Sustainability and Development in ASEAN and East Asia by Phoumin Han (Editor); Farhad Taghizadeh-Hesary (Editor); Fukunari Kimura (Editor)The rapid and sustained economic growth of the past two decades has led to marked increases in energy demand in the region and developing Asia will continue to lead the energy demand growth. The increase in energy demand threatens energy security and efforts to curb carbon dioxide emissions, affecting health and social well-being. These common energy challenges will need to be addressed through concerted efforts. This book provides several multi-dimensional quantitative analysis of the relationship between energy and other subjects including but not limited to income and economic growth, environment and health, food and agricultural production. The book also provides the most constructive policy recommendations concerning the relationship between energy, economic development, social development, and environmental development.
Begin Here by Rocío G. DavisAn analytically innovative work, Begin Here widens the current critical focus of Asian North American literary studies by proposing an integrated thematic and narratological approach to the practice of autobiography. It demonstrates how Asian North American memoirs of childhood challenge the construction and performative potential of national experiences. This understanding influences theoretical approaches to ethnic life writing, expanding the boundaries of traditional autobiography by negotiating narrative techniques and genre and raising complex questions about self-representation and the construction of cultural memory. By examining the artistic project of some fifty Asian North American writers who deploy their childhood narratives in the representation of the individual processes of self-identification and negotiation of cultural and national affiliation, this work provides a comprehensive overview of Asian North American autobiographies of childhood published over the last century. Importantly, it also attends to new ways of writing autobiographies, employing comics, blending verse, prose, diaries, and life writing for children, and using relational approaches to self-identification, among others.
Choosing Buddhism by Mauro PeressiniThis book explores the experience of Canadians who chose to convert to Buddhism and to embrace its teachings and practices in their daily lives. It presents the life stories of eight Canadians who first encountered Buddhism between the late 1960s and the 1980s, and are now ordained or lay Buddhist teachers. In recent census records, over 300,000 Canadians identified their religious affiliation as Buddhist. The great majority are of Asian origin and were born into Buddhist families or were Buddhist at the time of their arrival in Canada. Since the late 1960s, however, the number of Canadians converting to Buddhism has doubled every decade, and this demographic now includes more than 20,000 individuals. The eight Canadians whose life stories are featured in this book are among the very first to have chosen Buddhism. Their first-hand accounts shed light on why and how people convert to a religion from such distant shores. This book also offers contextual material (photos and texts) that complements the eight life stories. This material is meant to help readers enrich their understanding of the life stories by offering them the information they need to better grasp the meaning of the Buddhist notions mentioned, and the broader historical and spiritual contexts of the biographical accounts. While this book will be of interest to specialists because of the first-hand accounts, it is primarily aimed at a wider audience interested in Buddhism, religions or spirituality in general. It will also be of use to teachers whose courses touch upon any of these subjects. By combining life stories and contextual material, and placing an emphasis on the concrete experiences of Canadians with whom readers can identify, this book is an introduction to Buddhism and to what it means to lead a Buddhist life in contemporary Canada.
Integrative Antiracism by Edith SamuelFrom both a theoretical and practical standpoint, racism is one of the most important topics that has engaged the attention of social scientists in North America in recent years. As societies become more ethnically diverse, people from different cultures are increasingly coming into contact with each other, resulting in ever greater opportunities for racism to manifest itself. In this work, Edith Samuel examines the educational experiences of South Asian students and faculty members from the perspective of 'integrative antiracism' - the study of how the dynamics of social difference are mediated in people's daily lives. Specifically, she analyses perceptions of and responses to racism in four critical areas: faculty-student relationships, peer group interactions, curriculum, and the psychosocial dimension. Antiracism scholars maintain that racism is widespread on Canadian university campuses. Drawing on the available literature and extensive interviews with students and faculty, Samuel looks at both overt and covert forms of racism, as well as structural racism, that results in discrimination in admissions and employment. She also looks at race, class, gender, history, and culture and how these interlocking systems produce unique experiences of racism for South Asians in academe. Through the exploration of the intricate patterns of South Asians' assimilation into university life, Integrative Antiracism identifies the numerous barriers racial minorities encounter and suggests a variety of approaches to fostering a more equitable education system.
The Invisible Community by Mahsa Bakhshaei; Marie Mc Andrew; Ratna Ghosh; Priti Singh (Eds.)The South Asian population in Canada, encompassing diverse national, ethnic, and religious backgrounds, has in recent years become the largest visible minority in the country. As this community grows, it encounters challenges in settlement, integration, and development. Accounting for only 1 per cent of the population in Quebec, the South Asian community has received limited attention in comparison with other minority groups. The Invisible Community uses recent data from a variety of fields to explore who these immigrants are and what they and their families require to become members of an inclusive society. Experts from Canadian and international universities and governmental and community agencies describe how South Asian immigrants experience life in French-speaking Canada. They look at how members of the community integrate into the job market, how they manage socially and emotionally, how their religious values are affected, and how their children adapt to French-speaking and English-speaking schools. The Invisible Community shares lived experiences of different subgroups of the South Asian population in Quebec in order to better understand wider social, political, and educational contexts of immigration in Canada.
Asian Canadian Studies Reader by Roland Sintos Coloma (Editor); Gordon Pon (Editor)"Roland Sintos Coloma and Gordon Pon's Asian Canadian Studies Reader brings together essential writings by leading and emerging scholars in the field to explore the vibrancy of the diverse Asian diaspora in Canada. The volume is organized into four main: themes ethnic, intersectional, comparative, and transnational encounters. It critically engages topics regarding orientalism, settler colonialism, globalization, and nationalism.
Slanting I, Imagining We by Larissa LaiThe 1980s and 1990s are a historically crucial period in the development of Asian Canadian literature. Slanting I, Imagining We: Asian Canadian Literary Production in the 1980s and 1990s contextualizes and reanimates the urgency of that period, illustrates its historical specificities, and shows how the concerns of that moment--from cultural appropriation to race essentialism to shifting models of the state--continue to resonate for contemporary discussions of race and literature in Canada.
Voices Rising by Xiaoping LiThis interdisciplinary inquiry examines Asian Canadian political and cultural activism around community building, identity making, racial equity, and social justice. Informed by a postcolonial and postmodern cultural critique, it traces the trajectory of progressive cultural discourse generated by Asian Canadian cultural activists over the course of several generations.
Humanities & Social Sciences
Asian Families in Canada and the United States: Implications for Mental Health and Well-Being by by Susan S. Chuang, Roy Moodley, Uwe P. Gielen, Saadia Akram-Pall (Eds.)This book presents a comprehensive overview of Asian families residing in Canada and the United States by portraying and analyzing Asian Canadian and Asian American immigrant families in an integrated yet nuanced way. Chapters use an interdisciplinary approach to provide more comprehensive coverage of the vast diversity as well as common trends and shared characteristics of Asian families. Specifically, the volume examines the experiences of families whose ancestry can be traced to East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and West Asia. Key areas of coverage include: Integrated overview of Asian American and Asian Canadian families, including an exploration of the historical and current immigration policies. Experiences of families of East Asian, Southeast Asian, South Asian, and West Asian ancestry across Canada and the United States. Asian religious traditions and worldviews, traditional practices, and religio-cultural views on gender, sexuality, and family. Specific Asian immigrant groups on immigration demographics, family dynamics and relationships, gendered roles, parenting practices and beliefs, and implications for mental health. Challenges and issues that families face as Asians and immigrants, the strength and resilience of families, with extensive reviews on various intervention and prevention programs. Methodological strategies in investigating Asian families and their impact on the field. Asian Families in Canada and the United States is a must-have resource for researchers, professors, graduate students as well as clinicians, professionals, and policymakers in the fields of developmental, social, and cross-cultural psychology, parenting and family studies, social work, and all interrelated disciplines.
Nationalism in Asia by Jeff KingstonUsing a comparative, interdisciplinary approach, Nationalism in Asia analyzes currents of nationalism in five contemporary Asian societies: China, India, Indonesia, Japan, and South Korea. Explores the ways in which nationalism is expressed, embraced, challenged, and resisted in contemporary China, India, Indonesia, Japan, and South Korea using a comparative, interdisciplinary approach Provides an important trans-national and trans-regional analysis by looking at five countries that span Northeast, Southeast, and South Asia Features comparative analysis of identity politics, democracy, economic policy, nation branding, sports, shared trauma, memory and culture wars, territorial disputes, national security and minorities Offers an accessible, thematic narrative written for non-specialists, including a detailed and up-to-date bibliography Gives readers an in-depth understanding of the ramifications of nationalism in these countries for the future of Asia
Routledge Handbook of Asian Diaspora and Development by Ajaya K. Sahoo (Editor)This handbook offers an analysis of Asian diaspora and development, and explores the role that immigrants living within diasporic and transnational communities play in the development of their host countries and their homeland. Bringing together an array of interdisciplinary scholars from across the world, the handbook is divided into the following sections: * Development Potential of Asian Diasporas * Diaspora, Homeland, and Development * Gender, Generation, and Identities * Soft Power, Mobilization, and Development * Media, Culture, and Representations. Presenting cutting-edge research on several dimensions of diaspora and development, Routledge Handbook of Asian Diaspora and Development provides a platform for further discussion in the fields of migration studies, diaspora studies, transnational studies, race relations, ethnic studies, gender studies, globalization, Asian studies, and research methods.
Chinese Politics and Foreign Policy under Xi Jinping by Arthur S. Ding (Editor); Jagannath P. Panda (Editor)This book focuses on China's future under Xi Jinping's authoritarian leadership by examining various facets of the political, economic, social and foreign policy trajectories of contemporary China. It assesses Xi Jinping's power dynamic as the 'core' leader of the Communist Party of China (CPC) and analyses the impact of Xi's signature domestic policies which demonstrate his political authority within the domestic sphere. Moreover, the book presents Xi's pro-active, assertive and action-oriented outlook as a foundation for China's diplomacy in the 'new era'. Bringing together an international set of experts in the field who explore critical facets of China under Xi Jinping that deeply influence the regional as well as the global order, the book investigates the impact of Chinese initiatives such as the grand Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) and the BRICS New Development Bank (NDB). Importantly, the book illustrates US-China relations and outlines how this relationship will intensify in the post-COVID-19 era, which is poised to be one of the biggest challenges and turning points of the 'Asian Century'. Offering a timely insight into China's future and the trajectory of Xi Jinping's consolidation of power, this book will be of interest to academics in the fields of China Studies, Asian and International Politics and International Relations.
Art Worlds by Roberta WueThe growth of Shanghai in the late nineteenth century gave rise to an exciting new art world in which a flourishing market in popular art became a highly visible part of the treaty port's commercialized culture. Art Worlds examines the relationship between the city's visual artists and their urban audiences. Through a discussion of images ranging from fashionable painted fans to lithograph-illustrated magazines, the book explores how popular art intersected with broader cultural trends. It also investigates the multiple roles played by the modern Chinese artist as image-maker, entrepreneur, celebrity and urban sojourner. Focusing on industrially produced images, mass advertisements and other hitherto neglected sources, the book offers a new interpretation of late Qing visual culture at a watershed moment in the history of modern Chinese art.
Democracy in a Time of Misery by Nicole CuratoDemocracy in a Time of Misery: From Spectacular Tragedy to Deliberative Action investigates how democratic politics can unfold in creative and unexpected of ways even at the most trying of times. Drawing on three years of fieldwork in disaster-affected communities in Tacloban City, Philippines, this book presents ethnographic portraits of how typhoon survivors actively perform their suffering to secure political gains. Each chapter traces how victims are transformed to "publics" that gain voice and visibility in the global public sphere through disruptive protests, collaborative projects, and political campaigns that elected the strongman Rodrigo Duterte to presidency.
Routledge Handbook of Modern Chinese Literature by Ming Dong Gu (Editor)The Routledge Handbook of Modern Chinese Literature presents a comprehensive overview of Chinese literature from the 1910s to the present day. Featuring detailed studies of selected masterpieces, it adopts a thematic-comparative approach. By developing an innovative conceptual framework predicated on a new theory of periodization, it thus situates Chinese literature in the context of world literature, and the forces of globalization. Each section consists of a series of contributions examining the major literary genres, including fiction, poetry, essay drama and film. Offering an exciting account of the century-long process of literary modernization in China, the handbooks themes include: Modernization of people and writing Realism, romanticism and modernist aesthetics Chinese literature on the stage and screen Patriotism, war and revolution Feminism, liberalism and socialism Literature of reform, reflection and experimentation Literature of Taiwan, Hong Kong and new media