Citing Primary Sources
The Library of Congress has created a handy resource for citing primary sources in a variety of different formats including:
- Articles and Essays
- Cartoons and Illustrations
- Maps
- Newspapers
- Photographs
and many others.
Writing Help
McMaster University's Academic Support at the Student Success Centre
Meet with writing assistants to receive help in:
- topic and thesis development
- constructing a strong argument
- essay organization and structure
- referencing and formatting
among other services.
Citation Management
Citation Management Software is used to organize items found when searching in databases and automates the process of creating your bibliography when writing.
Research and Writing in History
Essaying the Past by
Part research manual, part study guide, and part introduction to the study of history, Essaying the Past guides the reader through the nuts and bolts of producing good historical prose, offering key strategies and useful tips. Includes expert advice on writing about history, conducting good research, and learning how to think analytically Covers important topics such as framing questions, developing a strong introduction and topic sentences, choosing good evidence, and the crucial role of revision An annotated case study takes the reader through one student's process of writing an essay and illustrates how strategies discussed in the book can be successfully implemented Six appendices cover the major issues facing students today, such as the dangers of plagiarism and the role of the internet
Publication Date: 2016
Going to the Sources by
It's been almost 30 years since the first edition of Going to the Sources: A Guide to Historical Research and Writing was first published. Newly revised and updated, the sixth edition of this bestselling guide helps students at all levels meet the challenge of writing their first (or their first "real") research paper. Presenting various schools of thought, this useful tool explores the dynamic, nature, and professional history of research papers, and shows readers how to identify, find, and evaluate both primary and secondary sources for their own writing assignments. This new edition addresses the shifting nature of historical study over the last twenty years. Going to the Sources: A Guide to Historical Research and Writing includes: A new section analyzing attempts by authors of historical works to identify and cultivate the appropriate public for their writings, from scholars appealing to a small circle of fellow specialists, to popular authors seeking mass readership A handy style guide for creating footnotes, endnotes, bibliographical entries, as well as a list of commonly used abbreviations Advanced Placement high school and undergraduate college students taking history courses at every level will benefit from the engaging, thoughtful, and down-to-earth advice within this hands-on guide.
Writing History! by
Historians not only have knowledge of history, but by writing about it and engaging with other historians from the past and present, they make history themselves. This companion offers young historians clear guidelines for the different phases of historical research; how do you get a good historical question? How do you engage with the literature? How do you work with sources from the past, fromarchives to imagery and objects, art, or landscapes? What is the influence of digitalisation of the historical craft? Broad in scope, Writing History! also addresses historians' traditional support of policy makers and their activity in fields of public history, such as museums, the media, and the leisure sector, and offers support for developing the necessary skills for this wide range of professions.
Publication Date: 2018
Your Citation Style
Chicago Manual of Style Online by
Completely searchable, the Chicago Manual of Style Online, provides quick answers to your style, writing, and editing questions. The site includes the popular Chicago Style Q&A, and convenient tools such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.
Chicago Manual of Style by
When that research paper comes due and you've forgotten your style manual, get the guidance you need quickly with the Chicago Manual of Style QuickStudy® guide. Based on the 16th edition of CMS, this handy, easy-to-carry three-panel guide contains the information you need for writing academic papers to CMS specifications, pared down to the essentials, including common, real-world sample references for both CMS citation formats so that you can be sure you are giving appropriate credit where credit is due.
Academic Integrity
The Office of Academic Integrity strives to assist instructors and students with issues of academic integrity.
The Office of Academic Integrity provides information for students and instructors alike to assist with the pursuit of knowledge and scholarship and to help avoid problems with dishonesty.
The most current Academic Integrity Policy is dated April 10, 2013 (effective July 1, 2013).