Skip to main content

A Guide to Reviews (Books, Film & Theatre)

Theatre Reviews

A theatre review is a critical analysis usually published in a periodical such as a journal or newspaper. The theatre review will offer the critic's opinion regarding the pros and cons of a show. A scholarly review may delve more deeply into research and theory influencing a particular work.

Select Sources

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1976 to present)

A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts & humanities, subjects covered include radio, television, film & theatre.

Contemporary Theatre Review (1992 to 2017)

Covers research in the field of performance, including all aspects of the theatre event.

Humanities Abstracts (1984 to present)

Broad coverage of all humanities disciplines including scholarly articles, book reviews, reviews of motion pictures, plays, and radio and television programs.

North American Theatre Online 

North American Theatre Online (NATO) is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. North American Theatre Online also serves as a tool to cross-search the other Alexander Street full-text drama databases: American Film Scripts Online, Asian American Drama, North American Women's Drama, and Twentieth Century North American Drama. All the results will be seamlessly integrated into one search result.

Theatre Record (1981 to present)

Theatre Record reprints in full all the national drama critics' reviews of productions in and out of London, with full casts and credits. It also carries early information on plans for shows all over the country.

Canadian Theatre Review (1974 to 2010)

Call Number: PN 2000 .C3

New York Theatre Critics' Review (1943 to 1994)

Call Number: PN 1601 .N4

Selected Theatre Criticism (1900-1950)

Call Number: PN 2277 .N5 S44

Theatre Record (1999 to 2016)

Call Number: PN 2596 .L6L66

Factiva (2001 to present)

Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers including theatre reviews.

Lexis-Nexis Academic (dates vary by publication title)
This database indexes reviews from numerous magazines and newspapers.

New York Times (1857 to present)

Full text from the newspaper including theatre reviews.

Times Literary Supplement (1902 to 2013)

A leading international literary journal examining culture.