Skip to main content

A Guide to Newspapers

News Databases A-Z

News Databases @ McMaster

Title Content Date Coverage
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Provides full page and article images (PDF) of 17th and 18th century English news media (i.e., pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks & newspapers). 1604-1804; varies by title
19th Century British Library Newspapers (Parts I and II) Provides full page and article images (PDF) of selected newspapers originally published in England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales between 1800 and 1900. 1800-1900; varies by title
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Provides full page and article images (PDF) from nearly 400 nineteenth century American newspapers. 1800-1899; varies by title
CBCA Reference & Current Events Provides indexing for 8 Canadian newspapers. 1980s to 2001;
varies by title
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly) Provides indexing and selected full-text for approximately 200 Canadian newspapers, most of which are local or regional news titles published by Torstar. 1980s to current;
varies by title
Factiva Provides indexing and selected full-text for approximately 2,500 news sources worldwide. 1980s to the present;
varies by title
Globe & Mail Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Globe & Mail. May 8, 1844 to 4 years ago
LexisNexis Academic Provides indexing and selected full-text for approximately 350 newspapers worldwide.
FAQ: How to find articles in the Hamilton Spectatoror in Canadian newspapers using LexisNexis.
1980s to the present;
varies by title
New York Times Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the New York Times. September 18, 1851 to 3 months ago
ProQuest News and Newspapers Search the full-text of 4 newspapers simultaneously, Globe & Mail, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. Provides full page and article images (PDF). 1840s to 2010s; varies by title
Regional Business News Provides indexing and selected full text for 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. 1980s to the present; varies by title
Sunday Times Digital Archive Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Sunday Times. 1822-2006
Times Digital Archive Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Times of London. 1785-2006
Times Literary Supplement Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Times Literary Supplement (TLS). 1902-2006
Wall Street Journal Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Wall Street Journal. July 8, 1889 to 3 months ago
Washington Post Provides full page and article images (PDF) with searchable full-text of the Washington Post. December 6,1877 to 3 months ago
World Newspaper Archive Provides full page article images to historical 19th and 20th century newspapers from around the world. Collection currently consists of African and Latin American newspapers. Historical