Skip to main content

How Do I Find Market Share?

Guide to market share sources.

The following table includes databases, books and websites that might include market share information.

Source Date coverage Description
McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Premium Collection 1850s to current, but varies by database Contains scholarly journals, newspapers, trade publications, company profiles & industry reports, all of which might include market share data. Worldwide coverage.
Best Bet!McMaster Users Only Business Source Premier
      McMaster Users Only Business Source Ultimate - Temporary
             access until June 15, 2020
NOTE: Ultimate contains everything in Premier plus additional sources 
Varies by title Contains scholarly business journals, market research reports, and industry & company profiles, all of which might include market share information. Worldwide coverage.
McMaster Users OnlyCanadian Business Database Current NOTE: This source does not contain market share data, but you may be able to calculate a very rough estimate using the company sales provided in this source. For instructions, see: Calculating Market Share Using Canadian Business Database
Company Annual Reports Varies by company Market share is sometimes discussed in a publicly traded company’s annual report.open accessSEDAR and McMaster Users OnlyMergent Online are two of the best sources for annual reports.
McMaster Users OnlyDBRS 2001 to current Canadian market share is sometimes mentioned in the Industry Studies. 
Global Market Share Planner. Vol. 1, Market Share Tracker
 
2001 & 2002 Location: INNIS Bookstacks HD 2757.15 .G56 2003
Provides international coverage of market share rankings for over 4,500 companies organized by world, region, and country and sector market share rankings.
Global Market Share Planner. Vol. 4, Major Market Share Companies: Americas 1997 to 2002 Location: INNIS Bookstacks HD 2757.15 .G564 2004
Provides information on brand ownership and market share for leading companies that operate in North America and Latin America.
Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyIBISWorld Current Contains company market share for hundreds of U.S., Canadian, Ontario and global industries. Market share information is typically included in the Industry at a Glance, Competitive Landscape and Major Companies or Key Competitors sections of the industry reports. 
McMaster Users OnlyInvestext via Mergent Online 1982 to current Contains analyst reports on companies and industries worldwide. Some reports will include market share information. 
Best Bet!Market Share Reporter 1991 to 2018 Location: INNIS Reference HF 5410 .M35 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks)
Contains market share data on companies, products and services worldwide. If searching for information specific to a certain geographacial area, make sure that country, region, city, etc. appears in the table title. NOTE: Prior to 2002, this title includes North American coverage only.
Market Share Tracker
 
2001-2002 Location: INNIS Reference HD 2757.15. G56 2003
Provides market share data for top companies in each sector in 2001/2002. Identifies leading 5,200 companies worldwide.
open accessMarketing Charts Current Contains statistics, charts and articles on the top players within a specific category such as automotive, retail, entertainment, advertising and more.
Best Bet!News Sources Varies by title Sometimes news articles provide market share information.
McMaster Users OnlyFactiva, McMaster Users OnlyNexis Uni and open accessGoogle News are some of  the best sources for news.
Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyPassport  2000's to current Market share information is generally included in the Category Data section of industry reports. Worldwide coverage.
Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyStatista 1990s to current Includes over 1 million statistics and various market reports, some of which may provide market share charts or tables. Worldwide coverage.
World Market Share Reporter 1997 to 2002 Location: INNIS Bookstacks HD 2757.15 .W67
Contains market share data on companies, products and services worldwide. Absorbed by Market Share Reporter in 2002.