Skip to main content

A Guide to Images

General

Please note: Make sure to read the image use guidelines or copyright policies on each site.

Libraries, museums and archives from around the world are working in partnership to provide and increase access to publicly held photography collections.

Images created by Flickr users available under the different types of Creative Commons license.

Photographs and drawings from library books scanned by the Internet Archive.

Offers access to a broad assortment of images from their collection.

Results can be filtered by features as well as usage rights.

Photolibrary documenting UNESCO programmes in the fields of Education, Social and Natural Sciences, Culture and Communication.

Art & Architecture

Please note: Make sure to read the image use guidelines or copyright policies on each site.

Art

"Virtual gallery" containing thousands of fine arts images.

A browsable collection of fine arts images from antiquity to the modern period.

Platform for collecting and discovering art, architecture and design from historic periods through to the modern age.

High resolution images available for download under the Getty's open Content Program.

Art, architecture and material culture images available for download.

Digital access to UK visual arts collections.

Maps, artworks and photographs from over 50 collections worldwide.

Architecture‚Äč

Images of sculpture and architecture from pre-historic to post-modern.

Photographic images, architectural drawings, integrated maps and more for architectural structures and designs.

Archive of digital images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects.

Humanities & Social Sciences

Please note: Make sure to read the image use guidelines or copyright policies on each site.

Anthropology

Digitized images and sounds contributed to the African Studies Program at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Photographs and illustrations of cuneiform tablets from 3350 BC to the end of the Christian era.

Geography

The Cartography Associates historical map collection of 16th to 21st century maps.

History

A large thematically organized collection related to American history and culture.

Digital collections of primary sources documenting the history of women in the United States.

Photographs from the LIFE photo archive from the 1750s to today.

Digitized photographs, illustrations and maps depicting Western interaction with the Middle East.

Sciences

Please note: Make sure to read the image use guidelines or copyright policies on each site.

Geoscience images provided by the American Geosciences Institute.

Photographs on many topics related to forestry.

Thematic photo galleries related to astronomy and space exploration.

U.S. government agency's multimedia collection documenting their research in science and engineering.

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's photography collection showcasing its work, studies and observations.

A searchable collection including images from this government department.

Canada

Please note: Make sure to read the image use guidelines or copyright policies on each site.

Images of Canadian art from the Centre for Contemporary Canadian Art.

Searchable archives from the Library and Archives Canada collections.

Several departmental sub-collections belonging to this branch of the government.

The largest source of online content and exhibits shared by large and small Canadian museums and heritage organizations.