Business Financial Data
- MEMDB (Medieval and Early Modern Data Bank): contains 6 databases providing select commodity prices from the Medieval Ages, three pertaining to currency exchanges and two pertaining to prices. Free access provided from Rutgers University for non-commercial and academic purposes only.
- Commodity Statistics through UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics: provides annual pricing data from 1960 to 2016 for various commodities through UNCTAD.
- SEC EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval) system: corporate and financial information is instantaneously available to investors, the financial community and others following the filing of such information.
- SEDAR: provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system.
- Factiva: Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. Available through the library’s catalogue.
- Mergent Online: provides in-depth business and financial research. lncludes Company Data Direct/U.S., Company Data Direct/International, annuals/U.S. and annuals/International. Available through the library’s catalogue.
- Compustat Global: provides data on major companies trading on international exchanges. Available through WRDS.
- Compustat North America: Available through WRDS.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic: Includes SEC Filings and many local and national directories. International information is extremely limited.
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS): Web-based interface providing access to recent and historical financial data from CRSP (Center for Research and Security Prices), Standard and Poor’s COMPUSTAT and other important financial and business data sources.
- Yahoo! Finance Stocks
- Center for Research and Security Prices (CRSP): contains daily and monthly trading data back to 1925 on stocks trading on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchanges. The data includes closing price, shares outstanding, and return for the stock. Also includes index level data. Available through WRDS.
- Eventus Software: performs event studies that compute abnormal returns for specific corporate actions or events using data directly from the CRSP stock database. Available through WRDS.
- Institute for the Study of Security Markets database (ISSM):Tick-by-tick data covering NYSE and AMEX between 1983 and 1992, and NASDAQ between 1987 and 1992. Each year's data is divided into two files, one for trades and one for quotes. Available through WRDS.
- Emerging Markets Database: data on 60 emerging markets and more than 3,000 stocks. Included are market performance, indicators, market capitalization, monthly value traded, local stock market price indexes, prices in local currency and US dollars, etc. In addition, this database includes two series of indexes, the S&P Global (S&P/IFCG) Index (which represents stock market performance without taking into account restrictions on foreign investors) and the IFC Investible (IFCI) index series (which reflects new opportunities for investment since the mid-1980s). Available through WRDS.
-
Thomson financial ownership databases: Mutual Fund Holdings (s12): Includes Type 1: Fund Characteristics Type 2: Stock Characteristics, Type 3: Stock Holdings, Type 4: Change in Holdings. Available through WRDS.
-
Inter-Corporate Ownership: The Inter-corporate ownership (61-517-XCB) directory is the most authoritative and comprehensive source of information available on corporate ownership, a unique directory of "who owns what" in Canada. It tracks the ownership of the largest Canadian corporations and provides up-to-date information reflecting recent corporate takeovers and other substantial changes.
- Yahoo! Finance Mutual Funds
- Investment Company Institute: primary source for statistical data and research on investors and retirement plans in the investment company industry. Institute research examines such topics as the retirement market, shareholder demographics and trends in shareholder ownership, fund fees and expenses and the industry’s role in foreign markets.
- Lipper Analytics: Selected free data on mutual funds industry.
- CRSP Mutual Fund Database: provides survivor-bias free open-ended data for funds of all investment objectives including stock funds, taxable and municipal bond funds, international funds, and money market funds. The database records each mutual fund's name and organizational history for open-ended mutual funds from January 1, 1962. Available through WRDS.
- Morningstar: provides free and instant access to timely financial news and analysis. Registration is required for free membership.
- Fixed Income Securities Database: Produced by Mergent, Inc. Provides issue detail on over 140,000 Corporate, Corporate MTN (Medium Term Note), Supranational, U.S. Agency and U.S. Treasury debt securities since 1995. Specific issue information available: Full call, put and sinking fund schedules, plus call frequency codes, Structured security flags and detailed information, Updated Fitch, Moody's and S&P credit ratings, U.S. Treasury auction information, Convertible debt information, Underwriters, trustees and fiscal agents, Unit deals and warrant information. Specific issuer information available: Industry code, S.I.C. code and N.A.I.C.S. code, Stock ticker and exchange listings, Issuer name and parent relationships, Bankruptcy detail. Available through WRDS.
- Trade Reporting and Compliance Engine (TRACE): NASD's over-the-counter (OTC) corporate bond market real-time price dissemination service. Introduced in July of 2002, TRACE consolidates transaction data for all eligible corporate bonds - investment grade, high yield and convertible debt. As a result, individual investors and market professionals can access information on 100 percent of OTC activity representing over 99 percent of total U.S. corporate bond market activity in over 30,000 securities. The information collected and disseminated for all publicly traded corporate bonds by TRACE includes the time of execution, price, yield, and volume. Available through WRDS.
- CRSP (Center for Research and Security Prices): includes US Government bonds (daily and monthly frequency) back to 1925. Available through WRDS.
- Yahoo! Finance Options: Options analysis tools, options news, learn about options investing etc.
- Chicago Board Options Exchange: provides valuable online resources including real-time and delayed option quotes, market statistic summaries, strategy discussions and applets, option software downloads and interactive educational training modules.
- Options Clearing Corporation: provides access to options and futures market data, historical volume data, weekly and monthly reports etc.