Finding Data and Statistics
1. Statistics on a specific subject:
- Statistics by Subject: Find key indicators as well as statistical information in the form of tables, charts, and analysis (Stats in brief, articles, reports as well as journals and periodicals), that are compiled on a variety of subjects and collected from various Statistics Canada's partner organizations.
- Data Tables: Previously called CANSIM tables and Summary Tables. The wide assortment of Data Tables has the same (or similar) content as was previously available in CANSIM and Summary Tables. The Data tables have a consistent look and the content will be dynamically updated as new content becomes available. These tables are based on Subject, Geography, and Survey/statistical program. Access to Profiles of community or region and thematic maps is also available in different tabs. The data can be downloaded either as what is displayed on the screen or as an entire table in different non-proprietary output formats such as CSV or SDMX. Concordance between CANSIM table numbers and new Data Tables IDs can be found here.
- Canadian International Merchandise Trade Database: Online database offers detailed trade data using the Harmonized System (HS) classification of goods (based on the 6-digit commodity level). Select a trading partner and specific variables (e.g., country, province, state, year, month, or frequency) or search by commodity or Harmonized System code.
- Canada and the World Statistics Hub: Canada and the World Statistics Hub provides information related to Canada's economic and financial activity with the world. It brings together data from a number of Statistics Canada products and presents it in a single interactive analytical tool. Information is presented by themes such as trade, investment, employment, and travel. The Hub also provides links to more detailed data and information regarding definitions, concepts, and methods.
2. Census data:
- Census Program: Census Program provides a statistical portrait of the country using current as well as previous Census data. Access key Census indicators for various levels of geography, Census profile data, cross-tabulations on a variety of topics, as well as visualizations based on Census data. Use features such as GeoSearch to find places on a map and get basic geographic and demographic data for those places.
3. High-level summary in the form of Analysis:
- Statistics Canada's "The Daily": The Daily issues news releases on the current social and economic conditions and announces new products. It provides a comprehensive one-stop overview of new information available from Statistics Canada.
- Analysis: Access analysis based on data and statistics in the form of Stats in brief, articles, reports, journals, and periodicals.
4. Aggregate data:
- Beyond 20/20 Web Data Server (WDS) is a multi-dimensional table viewer which allows for the dissemination of specialized aggregate data over the web in a variety of formats such as MS Excel, MS Word, Adobe PDF and Beyond 20/20 (.IVT).
5. Historical data:
- Canada Year Book (CYB) Historical Collection: Wealth of historical data is available in the Canada Year Book Historical Collection. It covers the first century of Canada's history, from 1867 to 1967, with historical text, tables, charts and maps, supplemented by interconnected learning resources for students and teachers.
6. Public use microdata collection (PUMF) from Statistics Canada's Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) program:
- DLI Collection webpage provides information on various microdata and aggregate data products that are available through DLI.
- Nesstar provides access to entire DLI collection in a variety of formats such as SPSS, SAS, Stata etc., as well as access to Master file documentation in PDF format.
Alternative access to DLI public use microdata collection:
- Odesi Data Portal provides access to entire DLI collection in a variety of formats such as SPSS, SAS, Stata etc. Odesi facilitates the exploration and analysis of data in a number of ways, such as by creating summary statistics and cross-tabulations, conducting correlation and regression analysis.
- Visit Library Data Service (LDS) in Mills Library, Room L104/C with a USB key to copy the microdata files.
7. Data/Statistics Collection web pages to locate various other data and statistical resources.